Senator Murkowski presents Rasmuson Foundation with Community Support Award

The year 2012 was a busy one for the Rasmuson Foundation with millions of dollars being granted to communities for arts and culture, health and social services throughout Alaska.  Last August when Industry Appreciation Day selected to honor the Rasmuson Foundation with the Community Support Award they were unable to have a representative present at the event to receive it.   Then January 11th Jordan Marshall, external affairs manager for the Rasmuson Foundation happened to be visiting the Peninsula when U.S. Senator Lisa Murkowski was speaking to a joint Kenai/Soldotna Chamber of Commerce meeting and was honored to accept the award on behalf of the Foundation from the Senator.  “Rasmuson Foundation has been active and involved in Alaska for decades and we see the full impact of their work in communities like the Kenai Peninsula where the Rasmuson Foundation has come in and works with those in the communities that have been doing good things and identifies projects that need some help maybe just a little push to pull that project together.  Last summer when I was at Industry Appreciation Day, I was proud that the committee selected the Rasmuson Foundation to be recognized as the recipient of the 2012 Community Support Award for their outstanding performance to this community, a recognition that is probably long over due but certainly no less welcome.  Their work is very critical in these times of tight budgets and allows us to leverage projects together and get them completed. So I was honored to present that award here today to Jordan Marshall,” said Murkowski.

Marshall was also recognized as being one of the innovators of the Permanent Fund Pick Click Give program.  After receiving the award Marshall commented, “The Pick Click Give program was originally envisioned in 2005 and took three years of conversations with law makers in Juneau in order to get the enabling legislation passed to allow a trial of the program.  The first year for the program was 2008 and we are now entering the fifth cycle of the program.  The idea came from Rasmuson Foundation president Diane Kaplan and I was honored to part of the team that implemented it,” said Marshall.  Commenting on the Industry Appreciation Day award presented by Sen. Murkowski he said, “It is an extraordinary privilege to represent Rasmuson Foundation and their contributions made in the community but the true champions here are the people of the Peninsula who day after day make such extraordinary contributions to their community helping their neighbors either through volunteerism or contributions or lending a hand in one way or another.  Working at the Foundation is truly a privilege because we are able to help the people of Alaska who are truly doing the great work in the communities.”

Rasmuson Foundation was founded in 1955 with an original gift of $3,000 and their assets as of 2011 were $487,700,000 dollars and paid out awards of $16,794,023 in the same year to promote a better life for all Alaskans.  To learn more go to