Borough election information

Listed below are the various offices that will be up for election in the Oct. 4 election. Information includes the seat available, the length of the term and the incumbent.


Filing for borough office closes on Aug. 15 at 4:30 p.m.

Candidate forms, voter registration information and other election information is available at Kenai Peninsula Borough Clerk's Office located in the borough building located at 144 N. Binkley St. in Soldotna. Call 714-2160 or 800-478-441 Ext 2160, for more information.

Information is also available online at

Borough election calendar

Aug. 15 - Close of filing period
Sept. 2. - Last day to register to vote in regular borough election
Sept. 19 - Absentee ballots available for the regular borough election
Sept. 23 - Last day to register to vote in mayoral runoff election
Oct. 4 - Regular borough election
Oct. 15 - Absentee ballots available for the mayoral runoff
Oct. 25 - Mayoral runoff election (if necessary)

Borough Mayor

One seat (3-year term): David Carey

Kenai Peninsula Borough Assembly

District 2 - Kenai (3-year term): Hal Smalley
District 5 - Sterling (3-year term): Charlie Pierce
District 8 - Homer (3-year term): Bill Smith

Kenai Peninsula Borough School District Board of Education

District 3 - Nikiski (3-year term): Joe Arness
District 4 - Soldotna (3-year term): Penny Vadla
District 7 - Central (3-year term): Bill Holt

Anchor Point Fire

Seat A (3-year term): Roberta Proctor
Seat B (2-year term): Duane Christiansen
Seat C (1-year term): Vacant
Seat D (1-year term): Vacant
Seat E (3-year term): Patricia Ligenza

Bear Creek Fire

Seat A (2-year term): Earl Kloster
Seat B (2-year term): Ronald Hewitt
Seat E (3-year term): Rick Jones

Central Kenai Peninsula Hospital

Seat A (1-year term): Marion K. Nelson (Always a one-year seat)
Seat B (3-year term): Neal DuPerron
Seat C (3-year term): Gene Dyson

Joint Operations Board for Central Peninsula Emergency Medical Service Area & Central Emergency

Seat B (2-year term): John Myers
Seat C (1-year term): Marsha Bybee
Seat E (3-year term): Martin Hall

Kachemak Emergency

Seat A (3-year term): Milli Martin

Lowell Point Emergency

Seat B (2-year term): Jim McCracken
Seat C (3-year term): George T. Walker, Jr.
Seat E (2-year term): Mary Miller

Nikiski Fire

Seat A (2-year term): Mae M. Leighton
Seat D (3-year term): Sharon Brower
Seat E (3-year term): Dan Hammond

Nikiski Senior

Seat D (3-year term): Vacant
Seat E (3-year term): Leigh Hagstrom-Sanger

North Peninsula Recreation

Seat A (2-year term): Paul Lorenzo
Seat B (2-year term): Vacant
Seat E (3-year term): Patti Floyd

Seward-Bear Creek Flood

Seat A (3-year term): Matthew D. Hall
Seat B (1-year term): Vacant
Seat C (2-year term): John Eads
Seat D (3-year term): Bill Williamson
Seat E (1-year term): Vacant

- Seats A, B, C and F are designated for residents of Seward. Seats D, E and G are designated for residents of the service area outside the Seward city limits.

South Kenai Peninsula Hospital

Seat C (1-year term): Barbara R. McBride
Seat D (3-year term): Roberta Highland
Seat E (3-year term): Judith C. Lund
Seat F (3-year term): Marie E. Walli
Seat G (2-year term): Ryan Ridge