Seaton holds seat against Diament

Incumbent State Rep. Paul Seaton has retained his seat on the Alaska State Legislature this year despite two challengers — first an August primary opponent and most recently Democratic challenger Liz Diament.


With all House District 30 precincts reporting late Tuesday, Seaton, a Homer Republican seeking his sixth term in the Legislature, took 4,167 votes to Diament’s 1,644 votes or 71.23 percent to 28.10 percent, respectively.

“I appreciate the confidence the people on the Peninsula have shown in me and I hope to represent them really well in Juneau,” Seaton said while watching results roll in at the Dena’ina Center in Anchorage.

Diament thanked those who supported her campaign on Tuesday.

“I would like to thank my family, my friends and my community for all their donations of time, energy, resources and encouragement,” she said. “I would like to thank my opponent for a positive and civil campaign. I hope that my candidacy has encouraged people to look differently at the issues facing our state.”

Seaton won the August primary for his party’s nomination against a well-funded and aggressive campaign by Homer businessman Jon Faulkner. Diament won an uncontested race for her party’s nomination. Diament did brave the cold on Tuesday, waving signs in the morning and evening on Pioneer Avenue in Homer.

In other news, three uncontested central Peninsula lawmakers secured their seats in the Legislature on Tuesday. In District 28, incumbent House Speaker Mike Chenault, R-Nikiski, received 4,375 votes. In District 29, incumbent Rep. Kurt Olson, R-Soldotna, received 4,562 votes. In District O, new State Sen. Peter Micciche, R-Soldotna, received 9,030 votes. Micciche defeated former senator Tom Wagoner in the Republican state primary.

Michael Armstrong can be reached at Brian Smith can be reached at


Wed, 07/19/2017 - 22:07

Pipeline may come to Ladd Landing; coal terminal won’t

After its May decision to stop seeking permits, Delaware-based PacRim Coal is giving up what had been a key piece of property in... Read more

Wed, 07/19/2017 - 22:07

Casting their nets

Wed, 07/19/2017 - 22:06

FBI: Watch for signs of sex and labor trafficking

Although statistics and studies of Alaska’s sex and labor trafficking cases are often centralized around Anchorage, officials caution that it’s not just a city problem.... Read more

Wed, 07/19/2017 - 20:15

Assembly introduced bed tax ordinance

Voters may get to decide whether Kenai Peninsula Borough hotels and bed-and-breakfasts should have to charge a bed tax in the fall election.

Read more