Former Soldotna Mayor and political newbie file for council seats

Five candidates applied for the three Soldotna City Council seats on the ballot for the Oct. 1 election.


The filing period for Seat B for a one-year term and Seats D and E for three-year terms ended Aug. 15.

Brenda Hartman resigned from Seat B at a July 24 council meeting because she is moving to Oregon, but was appointed to serve as the Seat B council member until the election at the Aug. 14 council meeting.

Dave Carey and Meggean Bos put in their names for the one-year term.

Carey is a retired junior high and high school teacher who has lived in Alaska for 52 years. He served on the council from 2000 – 2002 and as Soldotna Mayor most recently from 2002 – 2008. From 2008 – 2011, he served as the Kenai Peninsula Borough Mayor. Carey lost the spring 2013 race for the mayoral seat vacated by Peter Micciche, when Micciche was elected to Alaska State Senate. In his candidate statement, Carey said he wants to “promote further reductions in property taxes, improve our city parks and encourage everyone to buy local.”

Bos has lived in Alaska for seven years and is a high school teacher and adjunct professor at Kenai Peninsula College. She currently serves on the Soldotna Planning and Zoning Commission, The Soldotna Sports Center Master Plan Client Review Team and is a Soldotna Teen Center Advisory member. In Bos’s candidate statement she said she thinks it is important for decision-makers to contact the diverse residents of Soldotna and consider the future of the town.

Regina Daniels filed for re-election for Seat D, and is the only candidate. She has lived in Alaska for 39 years and has served on the city council since 2010. Daniels is employed as the vice president for Davis Block and Concrete.

Nancy Eoff did not file for re-election for Seat E. At the July 24 council meeting she said she would be doing some traveling so it wouldn’t be fair to the city to have a frequently vacant seat.

Paul Whitney and Keith Baxter filed for candidacy for Seat E.

Whitney has been an Alaskan resident for 38 years. He is a retired Alaska state employee. He served on Fairbanks City Council and the Fairbanks Municipal Utility System from 1983 – 1987. Currently, he serves on the Soldotna Planning and Zoning Commission. Whitney moved to Soldotna with his family in 1988 and is running for Seat E because he wants to make it an “even better place” for his children and grandchildren, according to his candidate statement.

Baxter, director of member relations at Kenai Peninsula Tourism Marketing Council, was born and raised in Soldotna. In his candidate statement, Baxter said because council has a “healthy abundance of political experience” this election is an “ideal time to introduce a reliable freshman council member with a sincere interest in the future of our area.”

The last day to register to vote in the City of Soldotna Municipal Election is Sept. 1. Qualified voters must be registered with the state at least 30 days prior to election and cannot be registered to vote in another jurisdiction. Voter information should be updated if your name or address has changed. Residents can register to vote at Soldotna City Hall or on The State of Alaska Division of Elections website,

Absentee in-person voting begins Sept. 16.

Application deadline for absentee by-mail voting is Sept. 25.

The Soldotna Chamber of Commerce is hosting a candidate forum Sept. 24 at the Soldotna Sports Center.

Kaylee Osowski can be reached at


Tue, 06/19/2018 - 12:02

New cards, new scams: Seniors targeted as Medicare rolls out new IDs

A law aimed at reducing fraud and identity theft among Medicare beneficiaries is opening the door to new scams.

Read more