Assembly swears in new members

The Kenai Peninsula Borough Assembly welcomed new assembly members at its Tuesday meeting and bid farewell to two of its members, including the assembly president.


The Oct. 1 elected members, district 4 member, Dale Bagley, and district 3 member, Wayne Ogle, and re-elected district 7 member, Brent Johnson were sworn in as a group by Johni Blankenship, borough clerk.

Johnson returned to his seat for the remainder of the meeting, Bagley and Ogle will be seated at the next assembly meeting.

Assembly Vice President Hal Smalley presented district 3 assembly member Ray Tauriainen and assembly president and district 4 seat Linda Murphy with plaques for their service to the borough.

“It’s a little unusual to get this when you’ve been un-elected,” Murphy said.

The assembly considered a petition to vacate a portion of Mark Avenue in Anchor Point. At a Sept. 23 meeting the planning commission granted approval of the proposed vacation that intends to “resolve encroachments into building setback and right-of-way,” according to a memorandum.

The assembly heard from Jason Johnson, a property owner on Mark Avenue who did not approve of the vacation, and it unanimously vetoed the commission’s action.

The following consent agenda items were approved at the meeting:

­—certifying election results

—extending the Sea Otter Community Center management agreement

—revising administrative salary schedules

—accepting funds from the State of Alaska Department of Military and Veterans Affairs 

—providing the issue and sale of general obligation bonds  

—appropriating funds for the closure of the Homer Landfill

—authorizing the assessor to accept a late-filed exemption application

An ordinance to approve to transition eight State of Alaska Department of Public Safety Dispatchers to borough employment was postponed by the assembly to the Oct. 22 meeting.

The next regular assembly meeting is at 6 p.m. on Oct. 22 in Soldotna.


Wed, 05/23/2018 - 09:22

River City Academy graduates nine