Soldotna Council appoints Murphy, Whitney

Soldotna City Council swore in two newly appointed council members in addition to its two new elected members and one re-elected member at its Wednesday night meeting.


The council appointed Linda Murphy to Seat C and Paul Whitney to Seat A.

Following the swearing in of elected seat holders Keith Baxter and Meggean Bos and re-elected member Regina Daniels, who was also sworn in as vice mayor, council interviewed four applicants, Murphy, Whitney, Tom Janz and Dave Carey for the two seats.

After listening to the applicants’ statements and asking them questions, the council voted Murphy to Seat C to succeed Dale Bagley. He ran against Murphy, who was the incumbent, for the Soldotna Seat at the Kenai Peninsula Borough Assembly and won. Murphy received four votes for Seat C, and Carey received one vote.

Council moved through its work passing four ordinances and one resolution.

Following council comments Seat A, held by John Czarnezki, was declared vacant, as he has accepted a position with the Economic Development and Planning Department with the city.

The council voted on the three remaining applicants. Janz received two votes, Whitney also got two votes and Carey got one vote. Council voted a second time on the tied applicants. Whitney won the vote against Janz 3 to 2. He took his oath telephonically. Whitney ran against Baxter for Seat E in the regular municipal election. 


Mon, 05/21/2018 - 21:32

A woof over their heads