BP honors Kenai Peninsula teachers

Five teachers from Kenai Peninsula Borough School District were honored Thursday at the annual BP Teachers of Excellence awards banquet.


Stephanie Cronin of Seward High School, Jonathan Dillon of Mountain View Elementary School, Barbara Larrivee of West Homer Elementary School, Meredith McCullough of Kenai Central High School and Colby Way of Port Graham School each received the honor this year.

The award, which is in its 22nd year, recognizes teachers throughout Alaska for their exceptional performance in the classroom, their dedication to students and their contribution to Alaska’s future.

“BP is proud to honor these great teachers and their tireless work in the classroom,” said BP Alaska Regional President Janet Weiss in a press release. “We see it as part of our ongoing commitment to the communities where our people live and work – and an investment in the people who help make Alaska great.”

Principal Karl Kircher of Mountain View Elementary was also honored at the banquet with a new award from BP, the Educational Allies award.

Kircher was one of five school staff members honored for their support of Alaska’s teachers and their positive impact within their school and their community.

Each award winner received a $500 gift card and a matching $500 grant to their school. BP recognized 29 teachers across Alaska, and has honored about 750 teachers since the program’s inception in 1995

Reach Kat Sorensen at kat.sorensen@peninsulaclarion.com.