Current weather

  • Overcast
  • 54°
    Overcast
  • Comment

Voters shouldn't pick and choose when to vote

Posted: October 14, 2012 - 9:02am  |  Updated: October 15, 2012 - 9:04am

Consider this proposal: Only those Alaskan Residents who voted in the Oct. 2 election should be allowed to vote in the Nov. 6 election!

Does that proposal get your attention? Are you awake now?

Now rant and rave about your rights as a American to vote or not to vote. Whine and complain with all sorts of lame excuses for not voting.

Yes you have the right not to vote but in turn i have the right not to listen to someone that does not vote.

You chose not to participate in democracy therefore you do not have a voice, you do not have a opinion. Your vote is your voice.

It’s very very simple: if you are an American then you will vote!

  • Comment

Comments (58) Add comment
ADVISORY: Users are solely responsible for opinions they post here and for following agreed-upon rules of civility. Posts and comments do not reflect the views of this site. Posts and comments are automatically checked for inappropriate language, but readers might find some comments offensive or inaccurate. If you believe a comment violates our rules, click the "Flag as offensive" link below the comment.
luvak52
36
Points
luvak52 10/18/12 - 01:28 pm
3
0
Right NOT to vote....SPWright

You want to know if the Constitution gives us the right not to vote?? Check out the Ninth Amendment...."The history of the Constitution reveals the purpose of the Ninth and the Founders' intent: to protect what constitutional lawyers call unenumerated rights -- those rights the Founder assumed and felt no need to specify in the Bill of Rights."

From article on AlterNet.org: The 'Silent' Ninth Amendment Gives Americans Rights They Don't Know They Have

gfds98765
1013
Points
gfds98765 10/18/12 - 01:52 pm
2
0
you are automatically voting for

You are being distracted from the issue of which cowpoke to vote for.
The more socialist Democrat, or the less socialist Republican who will slow down the takeover.

The socialist Democrats that want everyone on welfare entitlements,
Or the less socialist Republican who wants more people working & prosperous with fewer welfare entitlement recipients.

If you choose not to vote, you are automatically casting a vote for BHO to stay in the Affirmative Action Foreigners White House.

beetlekill
8
Points
beetlekill 10/18/12 - 02:57 pm
1
0
vote

To vote or not to vote. well personaly I don't like anyone that is on the ballot. So what you say against non voters is bull.
If I don't want to vote it's none of anybodys buisness.
So get a life and mind your own.
Also whats up with spwrong and watchman?...seems they have an opinion on everything...
Sad to see when one is committed to commenting on a raggedy papers news site day after day.

lkpomn912
931
Points
lkpomn912 10/18/12 - 03:25 pm
1
0
the President on Comedy Central said

the President on Comedy Central said.......Does it matter?

The President of the United States of America, this great nation, is on ‘clown’ shows. Comedy Clown Crappola.

Does it matter what he says?
Vote for the business man -professional Governor.

lkpomn912
931
Points
lkpomn912 10/18/12 - 03:39 pm
1
0
beetlekill, wow, spwright

beetlekill has posted three times, about every 2 weeks
and doesn't like that wow & spwright post every day.
beetlekill doesn't like the Clarion says it's a "raggedy paper."
beetlekill doesn't like any contender for president.
beetlekill wants 'proof' of posters opinions.
beetlekill wants everyone posting in the Clarion to...
....""get a life and mind your own.""

{except himself?} he's a ringer, a "POOH" flinger.
a paid poster of questionable quality working for ghost cats.

fight on Alaska Cats, we know you are Alaskans speaking for your beliefs.

spwright
1376
Points
spwright 10/18/12 - 08:31 pm
1
0
Amendment IX 10/18/12

Luvak52 1st of All Thank You for your reply which made me curious so I referred back to Our Constitution & Amendment IX United States Constitution

Quote " The enumeration in the Constitution, of certain rights, shall not be construed to deny or disparage others retained by the people"

My Question ? How does that translate to The People have the Right NOT to Vote ? It doesn't, thats a very broad term in that sentense that could be understood in numerous ways.

I do want to say Thank You for a discussion withOUT Rage & Hate & Obama Bashing & very angry People that are in serious need of Anger Management sessions.

They are going to be so very very upset when
PRESIDENT OBAMA IS RE-ELECTED next month .

Thanks for Your Time Retiree SPW "Airborne"

Sam Von Pufendorf
1088
Points
Sam Von Pufendorf 10/18/12 - 09:24 pm
2
0
Simplified for SPW

When arrested, you are read the Miranda warning (aka Miranda Rights). It states "you have the RIGHT to remain silent" among the other rights to legal representation. You don't have to remain silent and you can deny legal representation, but it probably isn't a good idea. A right is a choice. No one is any less an American for choosing to excercise their rights or not. It's simply wiser to gather pertinent information, form an opinion and excercise your right to vote. If you haven't sufficient information to form a logical opinion, it is probably best you not guess who you think would be the best person for the job of the most powerful office on earth. Many (most) tend to play roulette with those rights and vote according to the opinion polls not on facts.
Your reference to the 9th amendment states the case precisely. Its interpreted meaning is
Just because certain rights of the people have been stated in the Constitution does not
mean that they do not have still others not mentioned there.
For example, you have the right to privacy, but please tell me where in the constitution that right is explicitly noted! It isn't, but you have that right do you not? It is a basic right just as is your right to vote or not vote. Likewise, my right not to vote, while not written, is a basic right under the ninth amendment (Article IX)
Another example of something that is not in the constitution is the separation of church and state. No where in the constitution is this clearly stated, however it is implied.
SPW, although I don't agree with your opinion, that doesn't make you wrong ... it simply means we have differing views on the definition of freedom and or basic rights. I am free to vote ... or not to vote! Your view is I am not! That to be an American, I MUST vote.

spwright
1376
Points
spwright 10/18/12 - 09:30 pm
1
2
S V P 10/18/12

Thanks for the Reply. & Yes You have the Freedom to Vote or Not to Vote BUT if You chose NOT to Vote then You chose not to participate in Democracy, you no longer have a voice or opinion. Your Vote is Your Voice.

The term "Many Voters" doesn't exist in Alaska. The term
Very Few Voters 5% does exist.

Thanks for Listening Retiree SPW "Airborne"

PRESIDENT OBAMA RE-ELECTED

Watchman on the Wall
2893
Points
Watchman on the Wall 10/18/12 - 09:39 pm
1
1
SIMPLY AMAZING SPW

POT & KETTLE spw, pot & kettle.

Watchman on the Wall
2893
Points
Watchman on the Wall 10/19/12 - 06:44 am
2
1
Good Morning Beetlekill SPW and others

I hope it ok for me to start posting this morning.
I did go to other sites first as i always do to obtain more ammo for this sharing equally of ideas and opinions, which i will now start to do.
I do realize that many don't use the plethora of informational site which are available to all who seek out info which is very sad in this electronic age.
I don't use electronics that much either, but i do search out many differant local and world news sites and then sift out info as for the truths being reported. Some times one must do a lot of sifting and searching for truth.
Take this morning for instance i read that Obama's orpan donations to Kenya children, it's for their islamic radicalization, not really ment to help provide a way of survival or escape from islamic controlers.
But thats what one would expect from OUR Chrislam President, now isn't it?
Islamization of children, isn't that what Louis Farrikhan, leader of Muslims of america, and RJWright said Obama, the Chosen One, Messiah would do is get the youth to follow his leading?
There is major news happening World wide second by second that gonna effect even those of us here in Alaska and on the Kenai, be informed, not Duped.
Have a GR8 Day!! 18 days left maybe before we must decide to freely vote or not vote and we all get to decide which one we want to do, for now that is.

freedomlibertytruth
1398
Points
freedomlibertytruth 10/19/12 - 08:06 pm
2
1
speak up about public money being spent

Left wing rants silence polite righties on every issue.
Voting rants on TV are out of control.
In every single TV show that has a left speaker and a right speaker, this happens. Every single time. Every single show.

When the conservative is taking their ‘turn’ in speaking, (after quietly & respectfully listening to the lib) the liberal progressive interrupts, talks over their speech, raises their voice, won’t shut up, steals more air time with their rants, and eventually SHOUTS.

INTERRUPT & SHOUT. It’s time to shout back. Don’t stand silent.
That goes for the post on the internet also. Don’t be silent.
It's your money.

BigRedDog
654
Points
BigRedDog 10/20/12 - 09:48 am
2
1
Alexander Fraser Tytler

18th Century scholar gave us the timeline, as history has shown all democracies last about 200 years. Then a majority of the populous realizes they can lavish prizes upon themselves at the expense of the taxpayer. Then when candidates line up with the next great universal need they are going to get elected! This cyclic voting the economy into oblivion has surfaced recently in Greece and the EU in general. But it's no real surprise until the collaspe happens, then you find out that almost all democracies are followed by a dictatorship then a monarchy. Maybe your crystal ball is clouded by your political views, but mine shows signs of the Chinese Overlord looking over our shoulder!
Fraser was well versed in the decline of democracy as a ruling form of government showing built in design flaws. The comfort levels lavished on society seem to be the throttle on that trouble bound train. The greater the expected level of comfort afforded through supporting a candidate, the greater the speed of the economic collapse. Today in this great nation I see candidates of a political party offering everybodies everything, and everybody else is going to come allong like it or not!
I think that is what Thomas Jefferson meant when he said there you have a Republic, if you can keep it! We cease to be a Republic when the burden of public tax rubs so hard against the taxpayers resolve that it all goes up in smoke. It will come to a point that folks are simply tired of politicians who promise thier way into office by looking for that vien that will almost always pay! Now we even have direct deposit like IV push, it's just like national PIC line right into the heart. We need to start putting the right medicine in that PIC line and I do mean now!
Looking at that 200 year timeline we have somewhat exceeded by what I feel was the increased and focussed national resolve cause by the Great Depression. Fraser said that national heartships seemed to bring national resolve and I think the Great Depression may well have been an elixor. It brought us all together, but that is a pretty tuff pill to swallow. but clearly this economy and Nation are due a worming!! Get your wormy butt ideas out of our political arena or face your medicine!

spwright
1376
Points
spwright 10/20/12 - 10:29 am
2
1
What Happens to Democracy 10/20/12

Sat. 10/20/12
Big Red Dog, What happens to Democracy when it's Citizens No Longer VOTE ? ie: 5% Voter Turn-Out Oct. 2nd,2012

Our Very Own VOTER APATHY is the single most direct threat to Our Freedom.

Democracy will no longer exist when All of Our Citizens no longer participate & no longer Vote.

IF You are neither a Republican or Democrat then Write In the Candidate of Your Choice. Lisa Murkowski PROVED that Write In Candidates Work.

SPW "Airborne"

freedomlibertytruth
1398
Points
freedomlibertytruth 10/20/12 - 03:24 pm
2
1
“”you have a Republic, if you can keep it!””

“”you have a Republic, if you can keep it!””

When someone mocks you, insults your opinion, attempts to silence you……turn around quickly
…To prevent the knife heading for your back & The hands going into your purses & wallets. (then vote at election time)

Watchman on the Wall
2893
Points
Watchman on the Wall 10/20/12 - 07:38 pm
1
1
Yet another preelection Miracle, peace with Iran

I just read on a few INFORMATIVE web site that i gain info from daily that Iran and America announced SECRET meetings have resulted in a possible solution to the nuke standoff.
Major surprice here just like the miracle jobs report that was missing some numbers, but whats a few numbers when it help BO?
I think i said something like this would happen anyday now.
OOPS! The kicker is that Iran wants to see who wins first before they totally agree so i think that this supposed deal is like the jobs report, a FAKE MIRACLE by a Fake Messiah that continues to produce NO HOPE OR CHANGE.
Not yelling here folks, just expounding a little on the points.

Yes Reddog TRUE HISTORY always shows what coming around in this circle of life that God has designed and allows to play out.
America is a DEMO-copy of the Roman Empire and we see how it fell into a sex, sports, proxey war supporter globally, as well as a welfare state until they got to the point everyone had the attitude of WHY WORK when it's gonna be taxed or taken away from you to support the Nation of fun seeking have it your way citizens? So they got their wise and the Pied Piper marched them ALL right off the cliff of economic despare into the History books of a use to be GR8 Nation, now in total ruins.
As BO says it Don't BOO, vote, which when translated actually means, Don't Think, Vote for my Dream welfare state.

Watchman on the Wall
2893
Points
Watchman on the Wall 10/21/12 - 09:53 am
1
1
Good Morning SWP and ALL

I just heard an old song with the words of
"VERY SUPERSTITIOUS, WRITINGS ON THE WALL;
WHEN YOU BELIEVE IN THINGS YOU DON'T UNDERSTAND,
THEN YOU SUFFER."
What about this idea?
If Obama OUR 50% white man prez. knows that stupid people will ROIT after he loses to the 100% white man Romney, then would this not be a Good reason why he seems to be doing everything he can to GET-R-DONE?

2 Months till 12-21-12 and that possible start of Global distruction predicted by MANY ANCIENT SOURCES, EVEN JESUS.
Just wondering what OCTOBER, NOVEMBER, DECEMBER AND JANUARY SURPRIZES ARE PLANNED FOR THE COMPLETION OF AMERICAS DOWNFALL?

Watchman on the Wall
2893
Points
Watchman on the Wall 10/22/12 - 07:07 pm
2
1
Lets Debate about the Debate

Very interesting debate tonight and as usual Da Prez could not remember exactly what his past was or what his futre will be for America.
I was amazed at how Prez. BO did know that we now have boats that go under water, is this new? And about bayonets that the Prez said the military no longer use, OOPS, we do still use them in the Marines.
As for America being a strong nation militarily under Obama for 4 more yrs, how can we be when at every turn Obama does things to decrease our militaries rights to fight and conquer our enemies and reducing funds and military personel will only cause more attacks by our enemies as we grow weaker under Obama.
Please try and over look politico ideals and see whats at stake if Obama gets another 4 yrs of shoving us off the economic cliff thats ment to destroy America to a 3rd world nation status for his Global equality Dream Act.
Will Romney save America, i doubt it, but we certainly can't do any worse than what we have done under Obama, the Bower in Chief to all rich monarchs and Hollywood supporters.

Keep looking for that October Surprize to try and push Obama down out throats yet again so they can GET-R-DONE this destroy America plan.
Please vote wisely and responcibly.

freedomlibertytruth
1398
Points
freedomlibertytruth 10/23/12 - 01:52 pm
3
1
Rude and unpresidential. One

Rude and unpresidential. One can plainly see, where the Alaska libs get their nastiness, From their raging Thugs in Charge. Is there any insult or attack they won’t make?

When someone mocks you, attacks you, insults your opinion, attempts to silence you……turn around quickly
…To prevent the knife heading for your back & The hands going into your purses & wallets. (vote)

lkpomn912
931
Points
lkpomn912 10/23/12 - 02:21 pm
2
1
Vote for more Crony Capitalism at the Top.

Vote for more Crony Capitalism at the Top.

Vice President Joe Biden’s brother, James Biden got a Crony Capitalism DEAL from his brother, how much kicks back to Joe?

A Federal Government contract for $1,500,000,000
(yup $1.5 billlion dollars) to build homes in Iraq. The New York Post exposed this scam.

Norseman
2843
Points
Norseman 10/24/12 - 10:17 am
1
1
I agree with you

I agree with you wholeheartedly SPW. Those of us who have served in the armed forces know what sacrifices our men and women have went thru to keep us a FREE country.

You have the right to vote or not. However, if you don't vote, then you have no voice as far as I am concerned.

Watchman on the Wall
2893
Points
Watchman on the Wall 10/26/12 - 06:33 am
1
1
SPW my 'Airborne' son agrees with you, KINDA

My son called and we talked for over an hr and he said he kind of agreed with this idea of yours on voting.
The way he explained it is like when he was a kid and i paid for everything that he needed to survive on but he had to do all most nothing for it other than continually accept it from his Daddy.
He was provided everything needed and had NO VOTE in anything under his Daddy's rule.
So he thinks that is the way it should be as well under Daddy BO's rule of providing for all his chillins as well.
NO VOTES if you have everythings provided you & you don't work for a living and are physically able to do so.
I think he has had it with all the freeloaders being provided for under Daddy BO's sharing equally plan and all the Middle class having to pay for it while the freeloaders sit on their porkbutts while he and fellow soldiers are risking their lives for us all and the middle class is being smashed to pieces.
The boy is smart, takes after his MOM mostly in smarts, but also does have a little WOW common sence in him as well, actually he has a lot of WOW common sence in him which makes me a Proud Daddy.
He votes too, but not for you know who, like you, so maybe you should listen to a fellow "Airborne."
Have a GR8 Day and stock up on life raft supplies as OUR NATIONAL SHIP is sinking as we type and won't stay afloat much longer under the strain of Daddy BO's 'NO WORK, NO PROBLEM,' FREE FOR ALL.

spwright
1376
Points
spwright 10/26/12 - 07:21 am
0
0
"Earn This"

Fri. 10/26/12 Jerry Baty, I am sincerely Happy that You communicated with Your Son.
Does He intend to continue His Career in the Army ?

It's not as if anyone really cares but I need to make myself Clear.

IF You are a American then You will VOTE.

I could rattle on & on & write a Novel on that issue but I won't.
Your Son sincerely understands the term "EARN THIS"

Retiree SPW "Airborne All the Way'

Watchman on the Wall
2893
Points
Watchman on the Wall 10/26/12 - 09:10 am
1
0
SPW 4 more to go for him

Thanks SPW and he has 4 more this month for his 20.
Want you be glad when this DIVIDED WE FALL ELECTION IS OVER?

Watchman on the Wall
2893
Points
Watchman on the Wall 10/26/12 - 09:28 am
1
1
WHERE IS THE SHAME??

WHERE IS THE SHAME OF BENGAZI, LIBYA AND THE DEATHS OF 4 AMERICANS?

SORRY FOR BEING OFF TOPIC WITH THIS POST.

I wish the Clarion had a MONITORED OPEN FORUM for talking about issues such as this SHAMEFUL UNNEEDED DEATHS of 4 Americans as OUR Leaders stood by and allowed this to happen. Realize that it could have been any of our family or friends or Serving Military personel that could have been deserted in their time of need while fighting for each others lives while representing America like these 4 Americans were.
Some of these DEAD American heros could have done what the President and his followers did and stand down, but they disobeyed the stand down and went to the aid of other Americans and saved some while giving their lives AFTER A 6+ HOUR FIGHT WHILE MILITARY HELP WAS 1 HR AWAY.

SHAMEFUL AND A DISGRACE FOR ALL AMERICANS AS WELL AS THOSE THAT STILL WEAR THE UNIFORM AND THOSE THAT HAVE WORN THE UNIFORM OF AMERICA IN OUR FIGHT AGAINST EVILS SPREAD OF FORCED SLAVERY ON ALL HUMANS WORLD WIDE.

I just can't understand the silence or BLIND SUPPORT from those that have served as well as those that still serve in this absolute tragic lose of FELLOW AMERICANS when it could have been stopped. You want a WEAK DIVIDED NATION, well we almost have it and WINTER IS COMING under the OBAMANATION OF DESOLATION.

lkpomn912
931
Points
lkpomn912 10/29/12 - 05:48 pm
2
1
you said you were goinna!

Hay Hussein, now’s the time to “LOWER THE SEAS, and heal the planet” like you said you were goinna do. (Do that Voodoo that you do so well.) get the Black Panthers to help you.

Watchman on the Wall
2893
Points
Watchman on the Wall 10/29/12 - 07:20 pm
1
1
ALMOST 7 DAYS TILL WE CAN BE FRIENEMIES

I WONDER IF BO WILL WALK ON WATER & TRY TO STOP THE ELECTION IN 1 WEEK SINCE ALL HIS BLUE STATES ARE UNDERWATER AND WILL PROBABLY STILL BE OUT OF POWER AND SUFFERING FROM THIS HYBRED STORMS MASSIVE DAMAGE?

I WONDER HOW RANDY QUAID AND THE OTHER HOLLYWOOD PEOPLE KNEW ABOUT THESE SUPER STORMS BACK WHEN THEY MADE TWO MOVIES SHOWING THE MASSIVE DISTRUCTION ON NY AS SEVERAL STORMS COLLIDED TO FORM A SUPER CELL?

WHAT A MESS AND MASSIVE SUFFERING BY AMERICANS ON OUR EAST COAST, SAD, BUT STUFF HAPPENS AND STUFF IS HAPPENING MORE FREQUENT AND MORE DEVASTATING AS WELL.
Mt. 24; anyone?

spwright
1376
Points
spwright 11/06/12 - 12:49 am
0
0
Can't Hear You 11/5/12

LHMM1039
The Sound of Silence . I can't Hear You.
You made the choice NOT to partcipate in Democracy by NOT Voting. Therefore You have No Voice or Opinion.

Our Constitution states that You have the Right to Vote.

No Where does Our Constitution state that you have the right
NOT to Vote. That is not written in Our Constitution & I challenge you to find it-the right NOT to Vote.

SPW "Airborne"

spwright
1376
Points
spwright 11/06/12 - 08:28 pm
0
0
PRESIDENT OBAMA RE-ELECTED

7:20pm Tuesday November 6th,2012

PRESIDENT OBAMA HAS JUST BEEN RE-ELECTED !

YaHOOOO !

SPW "Airborne"

Watchman on the Wall
2893
Points
Watchman on the Wall 11/06/12 - 09:50 pm
3
0
So what changed?

ABSOLUTELY NOTHING CHANGED.
Leaches will get their wish of more Free stuff and those that desire the end of America as a Soverign Free nation will soon get their wish.
We have in fact all lost.
Congrates to those that think they won something, when in reality they won nothing, but we all have lost more of our nations Freedoms and Soverign rights to BO and his Global Citizenry of us all.
As i said many times no matter who wins, we all lose and timew will prove who is really the winners and losers.
I think we all lost much time and $2+ Billion dollars for a STILL DIVIDED NATION.

lkpomn912
931
Points
lkpomn912 11/07/12 - 02:24 am
2
1
Hay Hussein, now’s the time

Hay Hussein, now’s the time to “LOWER THE SEAS, and heal the planet” like you said you were goinna do.

Now you can raise the deficit even higher
Now you can double the debt once again
You can send more troops overseas to die for your 'foreign policy'
You can raise the prices of everything so that we are all equally poor like your ghetto chumps,
get the black panthers and acorn to help you.

Back to Top

Spotted

Please Note: You may have disabled JavaScript and/or CSS. Although this news content will be accessible, certain functionality is unavailable.

Skip to News

« back

next »

  • title http://spotted.peninsulaclarion.com/galleries/321268/ http://spotted.peninsulaclarion.com/galleries/321253/ http://spotted.peninsulaclarion.com/galleries/321248/
  • title http://spotted.peninsulaclarion.com/galleries/321243/ http://spotted.peninsulaclarion.com/galleries/321208/ http://spotted.peninsulaclarion.com/galleries/320593/
  • title http://spotted.peninsulaclarion.com/galleries/321173/ http://spotted.peninsulaclarion.com/galleries/321163/
My Gallery

CONTACT US

  • 150 Trading Bay Rd, Kenai, AK 99611
  • Switchboard: 907-283-7551
  • Circulation and Delivery: 907-283-3584
  • Newsroom Fax: 907-283-3299
  • Business Fax: 907-283-3299
  • Accounts Receivable: 907-335-1257
  • View the Staff Directory
  • or Send feedback

ADVERTISING

SUBSCRIBER SERVICES

SOCIAL NETWORKING

MORRIS ALASKA NEWS