Current weather

  • Overcast
  • 46°
    Overcast
  • Comment

Keep an eye on Congress

Posted: January 3, 2013 - 3:04pm

In general, Alaskans tend to be more attuned to what’s going on in Washington, D.C., than people from other parts of the country. Perhaps it’s because Alaska receives some of the highest per-capita federal funding in the nation, or maybe it’s just because following politics is a popular pastime during the long, cold winter.

Either way, we’ll want to pay extra-close attention to what’s happening inside the beltway over the next couple of months — and read the fine print on the bills that Congress has passed over the last few days.

Since the November election, Congress’ primary focus has been on the fiscal cliff — that combination of spending cuts and tax increases that was to go into effect on Jan. 1. In a last-minute deal, Congress addressed tax increases, but put off tough decisions on spending cuts for a couple more months.

However, while most taxpayers were spared an income tax rate increase, just about everybody will still end up paying more in taxes, in particular due to an increase in payroll taxes. Alaska workers need to be aware that there will be a little less money in the paycheck in the coming months — about $500 for a worker earning $50,000 — and need to adjust the family budget accordingly.

With tax increases addressed for the time being, the more difficult part of the equation — federal spending cuts — becomes the focus. Again, Alaskans need to pay close attention here as spending by the federal government makes up a large portion of the Alaska economy. Reductions in spending are going to hit close to home, and are going to hurt, whether it means a reduction in the federal workforce, or cutbacks to federal programs.

In a recent conversation with the Clarion editorial board, Sen. Lisa Murkowski said that the most significant stimulus that Congress can provide for the American economy is certainty. The fiscal cliff was designed to force Congress to provide that certainty. It only partially worked, which leaves us left with no choice but to proceed with caution in the new year — and continue to keep a close eye on Washington, D.C.

  • Comment

Comments (32)

Add comment
ADVISORY: Users are solely responsible for opinions they post here and for following agreed-upon rules of civility. Posts and comments do not reflect the views of this site. Posts and comments are automatically checked for inappropriate language, but readers might find some comments offensive or inaccurate. If you believe a comment violates our rules, click the "Flag as offensive" link below the comment.
Watchman on the Wall
2893
Points
Watchman on the Wall 01/04/13 - 11:28 am
1
1

What a Mess

We are in some Major troubles are we not? We will begin to see the Real Hope and Fundamental Change to Believe in come forth from Obama as we go downward as a Soveriegn Nation. God help US ALL.

bob99507
361
Points
bob99507 01/04/13 - 04:36 pm
1
1

John Boehner

I am so pleased that Speaker Boehner was re-elected .He may go down in history as the man who saved the U. S.of A. from the biggest fraud ever to hold the presidency.

Sam Von Pufendorf
1088
Points
Sam Von Pufendorf 01/04/13 - 06:13 pm
1
0

Eric Cantor

Eric Cantor would have been a better choice for speaker of the house in my opinion. He is respected more by his party than John Boehner. The chief reason he was re-elected speaker was to avoid further cracks in the Republican armor.

However, I do believe Boehner's pledge to no longer hold one on one negotiations with the White House and to allow congress to work the way it was designed is a wise one. The negotiations he held over phase one of the fiscal cliff were nothing short of disastrous.

I would like to read more on why you believe he "saved" us from the biggest fraud ever to hold the presidency. I'm certainly not disagreeing with you, I'd just like more thoughts on why you believe that.

bob99507
361
Points
bob99507 01/04/13 - 08:35 pm
1
0

Cantor

I don't believe he saved us, I believe he will save us. Cantor would have been OK I think Boehner has more clout.Obama said he would not debate the debt limit, he also said he is not going to cut spending along with the debt limit.Boehner and McConnell seem to be on the same page about the debt limit and spending so that should help in the negoiations.There seems to be a lot of support for Boehners demand of 1 to1 ratio of cuts to new barrowing.That can change when the cuts get personal.

Watchman on the Wall
2893
Points
Watchman on the Wall 01/04/13 - 08:58 pm
1
2

So WHO saved us?

I can't really see where we were saved from anything. What part of we are going down seems to be continually missed here. Obama will continue to pressure the GOP and even his own Donkeys to sacrifice everything for his fundamental change Dream. All that happened was the fall was pushed down the road just a while. When Moody and Standards & Poors credit rating comes out the first day after the supposed saving of America and says that OUR nations credit rating is GOING DOWN AGAIN, one needs to prepare, not praise anyone for a job done bad. No matter who is the House speaker, Boehner, or Cantor makes no differance and unless Obama is TOTALLY stood up to he will not relent in his Dream. The GOP and even the conservative Dems need to say ENOUGH. If this shuts America down, then so be it, it's coming any how so lets just GET-R-DONE and let the Dream chips fall where they may.

Sam Von Pufendorf
1088
Points
Sam Von Pufendorf 01/05/13 - 09:59 am
1
0

@bob99507

First, although Boehner garnered 95% of his parties support, in 20 + years he had more opposing votes from his own party (nine voting for someone other than himself and 3 abstaining) than any of those sitting in the same time period. Although not a glaring chink in the Republican armor, it is an obvious one.

As for not negotiating with the president over the looming debt ceiling, that is a mutual and in my opinion, advisable agreement between congress and the White House! Let government work the way it was designed.
Obama and spending cuts: "U.S. President Barack Obama said Saturday federal spending can be cut further but 'cuts must be balanced with more reforms to our tax code.' " Ironically, both parties agree that the tax code needs to be reformed and is far from a perfect device for tax revenue collection.
I think you and I may agree on several points those being: there needs to be a reduction in our spending and our habits for such spending needs to be addressed. For example, the bill for Super Storm Sandy included so much pork, it served as an example of how dysfunctional congress is. $150 million for Alaska and Mississippi Fisherman, $2 million to repair Smithsonian building roofs, $4 million for repairs to Kennedy Space Center. Those just scratch the surface. To many of our politicians are doing what is best for their constituency's and not what is best for the nation as a whole. In other words, Washington runs on the "what's in it for me" motive.
Although Cantor is infinitely more conservative than Boehner, I feel he would better serve the people of the United States and not simply his party or his constituency. I think we both know that since congress is divided, there will need to be compromise. Republicans are against any significant cuts to military spending. Democrats are against significant cuts to social programs. Everyone will need to feel some pain and commit to sacrifice if we are ever to see our debt reduced. But for now, there is little doubt that the debt ceiling must be raised to meet our bills.
Thanks for the informed discussion. I look forward to more of the same.

http://www.upi.com/Top_News/US/2013/01/05/Obama-US-can-cut-spending-more...

bob99507
361
Points
bob99507 01/05/13 - 12:39 pm
2
0

SVP

You are 100% correct about our spending habits.The reason we have dysfunctional spending is because we send dysfunctional people to DC.Does anyone in their right mind think that Begich, Murkowski, and Young are the best we can do? If they are we might as well pull the plug right now.

Sam Von Pufendorf
1088
Points
Sam Von Pufendorf 01/05/13 - 01:33 pm
1
0

Bob!

We, the people must start choosing our representation rather than the big corporations and special interests. But who, may I ask, is out there? Miller? I'm not so sure he's any better than those mentioned. Young is to entrenched to even think about running anyone against him unless they start campaigning as soon as Don is sworn in. Then they would have to go through two election cycles if they were to have any hope of unseating him. Murkowski is vulnerable as is Begich and should and could be unseated sooner rather than later ... provided there is a worthwhile candidate.
What I'm afraid of is the voting public sending someone like Sarah Palin to Washington. We don't need rhetoric, we need statesmen!

Luvflyfishing
214
Points
Luvflyfishing 01/07/13 - 01:27 am
0
0

FICA

Not sure where the person is getting his
Idea that the reinstated 2% FICA tax will make
A $500 increase on $50,000 per year income
2% of $50 000 is $1000 00

Luvflyfishing
214
Points
Luvflyfishing 01/07/13 - 01:27 am
0
0

FICA

Not sure where the person is getting his
Idea that the reinstated 2% FICA tax will make
A $500 increase on $50,000 per year income
2% of $50 000 is $1000 00

Luvflyfishing
214
Points
Luvflyfishing 01/07/13 - 01:33 am
0
0

Oops

Sorry my iPhone has a mind of its own
:-$

Sam Von Pufendorf
1088
Points
Sam Von Pufendorf 01/07/13 - 09:00 am
1
0

Good point LFF.

But the bigger issue is; in the last 20 years, the portion of earnings subject to FICA taxes has risen by almost double. Social Security wage base increases are based on a complicated formula that is supposed to index the tax base for wage inflation. But, just in the last two years the wage amount subject to tax has increased 6.5%. This at the same time that the average working American is earning 1.5% less in 2011 than the prior year and was the second year of median wage shrinkage.
In effect, the amount being taken from our pockets is disproportional to the amount going in to our pockets.
This lends to what I have been saying all along. We will all feel the pain of our debt if we are ever to get out from underneath it. Alaska's share of the Federal pie is going to decrease and all will feel the effects. We had the fat cat days of high federal spending in our state and enjoyed a benefit from top to bottom. Now we must deal with the other side of that fiscal sword and feel the pain ... top to bottom.

http://www.ssa.gov/OACT/COLA/AWI.html

Luvflyfishing
214
Points
Luvflyfishing 01/07/13 - 10:11 am
1
0

Yes I know

Sam
I read a lot of your comments. You are one of
A few who knows and seems to understand
What Is happening with our taxes. So much of
It is hidden within the tax codes. You never
Read about how the SS maximum that had been
Raised this year from $106,000 to $110,000.
With the 2% cut being reinstated, We will be paying
An additional $2900 in SS in 2013.
My husband and I both still work full time jobs.
He is 83 and I am 73. We both were required to take
Medicare Part B or be penalized not only by
Medicare but by our company health insurance.
All insurance companies require that if you are
Eligible for part B you must take it or they
Can deny your claims. Medicare is the primary
Payer and your health insurance 2nd. (Found this
Out the hard way).
Most people have their taxes prepared by
A professional and just pay or get a refund
Without ever knowing why. I am a CPA
and prepare personal and corporate returns.
If people could just see the massive manipulating
That is done thru the IRS codes, they would
Be preparing for a revolt against our Govt. :-).
Our govt and IRS have become too large and
Complicated for even the politicians or a
President to know how to fix it.
We are definitely in need of a massive tax
Reform. However, we really have no one
That knows how. Sad isn't it?
On a final note here, anyone who thinks they
Can live on social security income alone.
Let me say, no you can't. SS receipients
Are at poverty level.
I a appreciate the info Sam.
(Please excuse any typos or word substitutions
Sent from my iPhone)

Raoulduke
1751
Points
Raoulduke 01/08/13 - 08:09 am
1
0

keeping an eye

The recent Obama nominations along with the the last 4 years of a continued Bush agenda.One could get the impression.Bush is in his 4th term.So! The 2 party system is really a corporate paid party,and We are not invited.Quoting a comic Soviet defector"I just love this country."So! Watching Congress will have no affect on any decisions made.We the tax payer just can not pay our elected 0fficials enough.Liars,and Thieves can never get enough.

Luvflyfishing
214
Points
Luvflyfishing 01/08/13 - 10:06 am
1
0

So true

Raoulduke:
Could not agree with you more.
We have been watching congress for
Years. Watching does not change anything.
Voting does. Very poor voter turnouts in
Alaska.
I appreciate you and the others who post here
Because you stay informed about candidates.
If every person would do that, we just might
Have a better America. Although, it is still
The land of the free. For now anyway.

Watchman on the Wall
2893
Points
Watchman on the Wall 01/08/13 - 01:48 pm
1
0

Against the Law

1350 days since April 2009 is how long it's been since Harry Reid has passed a budget for the Senate or congress. This is against the laws of America, trouble is there is no punishment for not obeying the laws, so there is no desire to obey them.
This sounds like everyday life in all areas of our society.
The Donkeys have thrown down their choices for America as we go foreward, which are NO COMPRIMISE ON ANYTHING.
Our downward spiral will continue until they get their DREAM GOVT.
It's already to late to stop or revert the course which we as a Whole have set sail on for the total dismantling of our nations Soveriegn rights & freedoms.
Keep an eye on Congree to do nothing, other than continue on the same course to distruction. We had all better get ready as Wicked this way comes and it's coming for all of us no matter the party.

Sam Von Pufendorf
1088
Points
Sam Von Pufendorf 01/08/13 - 04:38 pm
1
0

Budget

The last time that we had a full-on, real-life federal budget that was signed into law, it was 1997. Bill Clinton was president, and Newt Gingrich was speaker of the House.
Since that time, one house or the other has signed a budget bill, but not both. George W. Bush never signed a budget bill.

Luvflyfishing
214
Points
Luvflyfishing 01/09/13 - 11:48 am
1
1

Budget

It is obvious why a budget has not been signed. Congress
would then have to answer to anything that went over that
budget.
WOTW: I totally agree with you. We are on a downward
spiral and I honestly believe that it will never stop.
I can point my finger at both parties as well. Neither have
the smallest idea of what it is like to live like a moderate, hardworking American. Elitism has always been the way the
system works.

Watchman on the Wall
2893
Points
Watchman on the Wall 01/09/13 - 08:58 pm
1
2

Top 5

I just seen a recent poll on Fox about the popularity of Congress compared to other things and the top five more popular things are.
1) Root Canals
2) Head lice
3) Colonostaphy
4) [filtered word] Roaches
5) France

This is not good news folks, not good at all. Especially with Congress being worse than France. LOL
It will be interseting to see what happens as we go foreward, will it not?

Watchman on the Wall
2893
Points
Watchman on the Wall 01/10/13 - 04:03 pm
1
3

Breaking News on Congress

On Jan 4, 2013, US Rep. Jose Serrano, D-NY reintroduced House Resolution 15 to repeal the 2nd Amendment and thus abolish Prez. term limits so Obama can run for a third term or even fourth like FDR did. He also introduced this same bill in 2003, 2009, 2011, sounds like they have a DREAM to me and don't really care what anyone else thinks.
For info on this go to the following web site.
http://www.wnd.com/2013/01/democrat-plan-lets-obama-run-for-3rd-term/
Check it out it's scarry their desire, DREAM for absolute control and complete Fundamental Change of America into a Totalitarian Global Society for all of us.
I guess this article by the Clarion staff is RIGHT ON about keeping an eye on Congress and a BIG THANKS for that Heads up.
Now if people will only listen and see exactly what their DREAM is and prepare for troubles Nation, as well as World wide.
It is coming folks, just as the Bible says it is, and ALL SIGNS point too, the question is are you really ready for it's arrival any day now at the END of the Age, not End of the World?

Luvflyfishing
214
Points
Luvflyfishing 01/10/13 - 04:45 pm
0
1

WOTW:

I have been reading about Obama's plan for quite some time now. I have to believe that he cannot make his dream come true. However, I know the end is coming. I believe we will see the end of the age before the end of the world.
I just pray that I am worthy to escape all the horrible things to come.

Suss
2310
Points
Suss 01/10/13 - 06:27 pm
0
0

Zoroastrian

Yup, Congressional proof the end is nigh, he is a little older story but similar in thought. This fits many forecasts for the "end".

The eschatological ideas are only alluded to in the surviving texts of the Avesta, and are known of in detail only from the texts of Zoroastrian tradition, in particular in the ca. 9th century Bundahishn. The accompanying story, as it appears in the Bundahishn (GBd 30.1ff), runs as follows:[1] At the end of the "third time" (the first being the age of creation, the second of mixture, and the third of separation), there will be a great battle between the forces of good (the yazatas) and those of evil (the daevas) in which the good will triumph. On earth, the Saoshyant will bring about a resurrection of the dead in the bodies they had before they died. This is followed by a last judgment through ordeal. The yazatas Airyaman and Atar will melt the metal in the hills and mountains, and the molten metal will then flow across the earth like a river. All mankind – both the living and the resurrected dead – will be required to wade through that river, but for the righteous (ashavan) it will seem to be a river of warm milk, while the wicked will be burned. The river will then flow down to hell, where it will annihilate Angra Mainyu and the last vestiges of wickedness in the universe.

The narrative continues with a projection of Ahura Mazda and the six Amesha Spentas solemnizing a final act of worship (yasna), and the preparation of parahaoma from "white haoma". The righteous will partake of the parahaoma, which will confer immortality upon them. Thereafter, humankind will become like the Amesha Spentas, living without food, without hunger or thirst, and without weapons (or possibility of bodily injury). The material substance of the bodies will be so light as to cast no shadow. All humanity will speak a single language and belong to a single nation without borders. All will share a single purpose and goal, joining with the divine for a perpetual exaltation of God's glory.[2]

Although frashokereti is a restoration of the time of creation, there is no return to the uniqueness of the primordial plant, animal and human; while in the beginning there was one plant, one animal and one human, the variety that had since issued would remain forever.[1] Similarly, the host of divinities brought into existence by Mazda continue to have distinct existences, "and there is no prophecy of their re-absorption into the Godhead."[1]
Zoroastrianism also includes beliefs about the renovation of the world and individual judgment (cf. general and particular judgment), including the resurrection of the dead.

Individual judgment at death is by the Bridge of Judgment, which each human must cross, facing a spiritual judgment. Humans' actions under their free will determine the outcome. One is either greeted at the bridge by a beautiful, sweet-smelling maiden or by an ugly, foul-smelling old woman. The maiden leads the dead safely across the bridge to the Amesha Spenta Good Mind, who carries the dead to paradise. The old woman leads the dead down a bridge that narrows until the departed falls off into the abyss of hell.[42]

Zoroastrian hell is reformative; punishments fit the crimes, and souls do not rest in eternal damnation. Hell contains foul smells and evil food, and souls are packed tightly together although they believe they are in total isolation.[42]

In Zoroastrian eschatology, a 3,000-year struggle between good and evil will be fought, punctuated by evil's final assault. During the final assault, the sun and moon will darken and mankind will lose its reverence for religion, family, and elders. The world will fall into winter, and Angra Mainyu's most fearsome miscreant, Azi Dahaka, will break free and terrorize the world.[42]

The final savior of the world, Saoshyant, will be born to a virgin impregnated by the seed of Zoroaster while bathing in a lake. Saoshyant will raise the dead – including those in both heaven and hell – for final judgment, returning the wicked to hell to be purged of bodily sin. Next, all will wade through a river of molten metal in which the righteous will not burn. Heavenly forces will ultimately triumph over evil, rendering it forever impotent. Saoshyant and Ahura Mazda will offer a bull as a final sacrifice for all time, and all men will become immortal. Mountains will again flatten and valleys will rise; heaven will descend to the moon, and the earth will rise to meet them both.[42]

Man requires two judgments because there are as many aspects to his being: spiritual (menog) and physical (getig).[42]

Sam Von Pufendorf
1088
Points
Sam Von Pufendorf 01/10/13 - 08:28 pm
0
0

22 amendment

This is not the first time a bill has been offered to repeal the 22nd amendment. In the last twenty years, three democrats (now four) and three republicans (Mitch McConnel being one) have made an attempt to repeal the amendment. Not all made the proposal when their party was in the White House. In addition, two presidents other than Roosevelt ran for a third term but failed to gain their parties nomination (Grant and Cleveland).
In order to repeal the amendment, it wouldn't simply have to have the support of the House and the Senate, but it would also have to be voted for repeal by 3/4 of the states legislatures. Not likely since 2/3 of state governments are either republican controlled or split.
Personally, I think the House of Representatives should be elected to a four or even a six year term. As it stands now, they are always in campaign mode and are voting in Congress to get re-elected, not to govern responsibly!

Watchman on the Wall
2893
Points
Watchman on the Wall 01/10/13 - 11:33 pm
0
1

Dr Suss, as well as SVP

Suss did i do battle with you on Greta Wire a few yrs back? It does seem like i have battled against this FAMILIAR SPIRIT before on the things of rightiousness and unrightiousness in the past pertaining to Congress and Govt. in general, as well as the Kingdom of God to come.
This of course may be why you know more about me than i have shared here and reveal these things on the Clarion that no one else knows, unless you have been following or doing battle with me before. Just wondering as you are now starting to reveal the very same patterns as past battles with FAMILIAR SPIRITS that i have had when i was fishing for TROLLS before and still am fishing in the power of God, not on my own strength.
The LORD rebuke you!

SVP thanks for the info as usual and what a blessing your knowledge and understanding would be for the Kingdom of God if you would only apply that ability you have for eternal rewards, rather than temporal simi victories against others that are searching for TRUTH and understanding. I'm not trying to be mean or nasty to you SVP, i truly do appreciate your sharing of knowledge. Troubles are coming for all the world & YOU know it's true. Yet you waste time sharing knowledge that really makes no differance for hope of an eternal fundamental change or hope to believe in for any.
This makes me very sad the total waste of your ability on this site to really help others escape the wrath thats coming on all.

On one hand i battle people like Suss and a few others that are blind to the truth and promote lies & total deception ment to mislead and decieve everyone none stop to help usher in a OWO. On the other hand i battle those like you SVP who i truly believe are wanting to share knowledge of things happening all around us and are well learned, yet you refuse to share the TRUTH that will set people free. A TRUTH that you claim to know which has set you free and believe in, but are affraid to share in order to save our fellow mankind that so desperatly needs this True Hope & Fundamental Change to Believe in that we have.
There is a ONE WORLD ORDER coming and it's arrival is very near as ALL SIGNS show, i truly believe that the American Govt. will help it's arrival.
The time is drawing near when everyone must decide which way to vote, either up or down in support for the Govt. of men, or the govt. of God. My prayers is that people like Suss and you, SVP, will come to a realization of what is really true or false and make a decission to stand and fight for TRUTH and Rightiousness for all. Congress is part of the problem and will not help America to escape whats coming on us for our rejection of GODS laws or statutes to live and survive eternity by. Watch Congress, but, most of all watch the King of America. The King our forefathers and God warned us would come in the last days. with his desire to inslave us all while he destroys us all.

Both of you Be Blessed and Continual Prayers for you and all others on the Clarion blog site, as well as Clarion staff as we go Foreward towards the End of Times. No matter who or which belief one adhears to, the End is Nearer now than yesterday, and ALL THE SIGNS point to that, if only we would open our eyes and ears to see and hear exactly what is going on, things that they are blantantly telling us all of their intent, things predicted by many Ancient Societies as well as Jesus for such a time as this.
I am serious as a heart attack, prayers for ALL on this site for wisdom and understanding of what is true or false, all of which we all shall see & understand very soon i fear.
Be Blessed.

Watchman on the Wall
2893
Points
Watchman on the Wall 01/10/13 - 09:59 pm
0
0

Luvflyfishing

You may have unleashed the demons of hell by stating that you believe the End is near and desire to be found wothy to escape the wrath to come at the End of time, Age.
If one understands and read Gods word about the ONLY WAY found in many places then your good to go. John 14:6 says it all along with John 3:16, the thing is many forget John 3:17-19, the condemnation of those that reject John 3:16.
Be Blessed and study to show yourself approved, a workman rightly dividing the word of truth.
Please remember Titus 2:13, the blessed hope for all that believe and are looking ahead for that blessed hope of Christs coming for his own to start the 7 yr tribulatin period.
To stay on topic, congress will help usher in that last 7 yr period of the OWO as Revelation 13; shows is coming for the last days.
Be Blessed my sister

Luvflyfishing
214
Points
Luvflyfishing 01/11/13 - 05:42 am
0
0

WOTW

Blessings to you too! I love reading your posts.
My bible is my handbook to this life on earth.
I would be lost and desperate without it.
We both realize that there are many unbelievers
In this world. The bible teaches us what is to
Come. So many want to ignore it.
The OWO is on its way. No doubt about that.
The most important thing people should
Be concerned about is not our govt or the leaders. But
To be ready to meet The Lord when he comes.
And he WILL come. Greater is he that is in
Me than he who is in the world.

Sam Von Pufendorf
1088
Points
Sam Von Pufendorf 01/11/13 - 05:57 am
3
0

WoW

I am dealing in TRUTH. You are dealing in fear and despair! You provide half witted BS that (repealing the 22 Amendment) you say is a power grab for the "desolation of nations."
You use your faith to place yourself above any that haven't a like mind, or a like faith when faith of ANY kind is what is lacking in our society. I am comfortable with my faith and don't fear bearing myself to my God. (Hebrew's 4:13). What I want to know is will you be able to shed that white robe you think you're wearing and appear as snow white as you believe yourself to be? If you so want to see people of a like mind and similar opinion, go to a website that is more suitable to your thoughts and opinions. If you truly want to help save people, go to a website such as "nazination.org" and save them.
I consider myself a spiritual and patient person with typical human flaws. I do my research on the here and now and I have little time to worry for the "end of times" or "end of an age." I prepare for the disasters that may become us... earthquake, volcano, wind storm, blizzard etc, but when God chooses my time, I will have little say in it! I have prepared spiritually which is really no concern of your own! God and I have an understanding, I'll do his work here and he will help me. So, if you are questioning Gods plan for me, take it up with him! It is his authority which judges my works, NOT YOURS!
I don't pretend to know the bible cover to cover. I go to church and I pay attention. I read the bible and try to do well as a kind and charitable human being. I believe in my maker and speak with him frequently. You see Jerry, it is not YOU I have been placed on this earth to please. God said I don't have to be just like you! You are definitely a unique individual. But in my opinion, you're just like an ex smoker! You'll have smoked for 40 years, quit, and a month later start preaching to others about the evils of smoking! STOP!!! I know already!
Matthew 7:1 is a bible verse you may have skipped over.
"Judge not lest ye be judged."

borninak
523
Points
borninak 01/11/13 - 07:44 am
1
0

Tell It Like It Is

Exellent post SVP.

Norseman
2495
Points
Norseman 01/11/13 - 09:40 am
1
0

SVP

I enjoy reading SVP's post. When I saw it was titled WoW, I had to "unignore" wow to see what he had written.

I had put WoW on ignore months ago because I had grown so weary of his rantings and ravings.

I realize this may sound patronizing but I do enjoy reading SVP's posts. I always learn a little bit more and appreciate his/her's ability to communicate.

Sam Von Pufendorf
1088
Points
Sam Von Pufendorf 01/11/13 - 12:11 pm
1
0

Banter

In your previous post addressed to suss and myself you state: "...you waste time sharing knowledge that really makes no differance... " I believe it was your previous post that in your own mind wastes time sharing knowledge that really makes no difference. After all, you Jerry, were the one that posted "Breaking News on Congress." I was simply stating the facts in relation to your post concerning the 22nd amendment... which apparently, as you say, is a waste of time. So stop wasting MY time by posting blather that you don't care to have any form of input on.
I have no beef with any of the people posting here. However, when everything from throwing pies in peoples faces to who's going to win the super bowl is somehow twisted into the "Obamanation of Nations" or "one world order" well, it just gets old. It wastes time and is just plane tiresome!
I am reluctant to put anyone on my ignore list as I believe everyone has a little input that may enlighten me. But the same banter over and over and over again ... well ... it simply shows the lack of an open mind.
Finally, you state you enjoy "doing battle" with other bloggers. Maybe that is why from time to time you are removed from these blogs. This is not a forum to "do battle" but to share perspectives and opinions on the story at hand.
I, as you, am not posting this to attack or hurt anyone. I am trying to help you along your way! If you post something, do the research, think a little and add to the discussion. I commend you for your faith and wish you well in your journey and in your committment to do the work He has chosen for you. Our paths may be different, but our destination is the same.
Norseman, thank you for your opinion in regards to my posts. A very wise professor once told my class "it is not only my job to teach you and enlighten you, but it is more importantly my job to provoke and inspire thought!"
Eleven days, eleven hours and ten minutes. That's how long it took me to break my New Year resolution to "stay on topic." Oh well, there's always 2014 ... isn't there WoW?

Back to Top

Spotted

Please Note: You may have disabled JavaScript and/or CSS. Although this news content will be accessible, certain functionality is unavailable.

Skip to News

« back

next »

  • title http://spotted.peninsulaclarion.com/galleries/321268/ http://spotted.peninsulaclarion.com/galleries/321253/ http://spotted.peninsulaclarion.com/galleries/321248/
  • title http://spotted.peninsulaclarion.com/galleries/321243/ http://spotted.peninsulaclarion.com/galleries/321208/ http://spotted.peninsulaclarion.com/galleries/320593/
  • title http://spotted.peninsulaclarion.com/galleries/321173/ http://spotted.peninsulaclarion.com/galleries/321163/
My Gallery

CONTACT US

  • 150 Trading Bay Rd, Kenai, AK 99611
  • Switchboard: 907-283-7551
  • Circulation and Delivery: 907-283-3584
  • Newsroom Fax: 907-283-3299
  • Business Fax: 907-283-3299
  • Accounts Receivable: 907-335-1257
  • View the Staff Directory
  • or Send feedback

ADVERTISING

SUBSCRIBER SERVICES

SOCIAL NETWORKING

MORRIS ALASKA NEWS