14 Peninsula Oilers make ABL All-Star Game

Fourteen Oilers were picked to play in the first Alaska Baseball League All-Star Game today at Mulcahy Stadium in Anchorage. The game starts at 4 p.m. Sunday.
Coaches drafted the all-star players onto two teams.
On the Gold team for the Oilers will be infielder Mike Miller, infielder Troy Channing, catcher Manny Reyes, pitcher Gabriel Asakura, pitcher Cameron McVey, pitcher Reese McGraw, pitcher Brandon Kizer, pitcher John Maciel and outfielder Tanner Rust.
On the Navy team for the Oilers will be infielder Patrick Wisdom, infielder Chris Mallory, catcher Ryan McChesney, pitcher Jordan Mills and pitcher Mark Winkleman.
There also will be a State Farm Home Run Derby at 2 p.m. Sunday. Representing the Oilers will be Wisdom, Channing, Kirksey and Rust.


Wasilla, Colony hockey get revenge on Homer

WASILLA — In early December, Homer stunned three-time defending North Star Conference champion Colony with a goal during the final seconds of overtime. Friday, the... Read more