Walker Cup rivalry set to continue

Kenai Golf Course looks to defend title

Next week the Kenai Golf Course is set to defend the Walker Cup title at the Birch Ridge Golf Course. This competition is, perhaps, the best competition of the entire season. Last year's Kenai Walker Cup squad was comprised of the following golfers: Rene Alvarez, Tommy Carver, Rich Edwards, Todd Eskelin, Mark Griffin, Jeff Johns, Doug Jung, Derek Kaufman, Truckee LeMay, Chris Morin and Bob Sizemore. Gordon Griffin was the captain, and Ron Goecke and Kirk Hyman were co-captains.
We are looking forward to the competition this year at Birch Ridge. Tommy Carver will be the captain, and Gordon Griffin will be the co-captain. The venue alternates between Kenai and Birch Ridge. It features three days of various types of competition.
The golf course is rounding into great shape with all the rain and sunshine we have received in the last couple of weeks. As stated last week, new projects will begin on Nos. 2, 13 and 14. We are looking forward to starting that process. These projects will completed in about a month, weather permitting. Play will not be interrupted.
Our next Ladies' Clinic runs July 18, 19 and 20 from 6 to 8 p.m. All aspects of golf basics are taught in the clinic. It offers excellent instruction for beginning and intermediate golfers. Instructors for that clinic will be Gordon Griffin, Ron Goecke and Tommy Carver. If you wish to register, drop by or call the clubhouse.
Senior League, July 5 - Low gross winner was Craig Jung, low net winner was Bob Bush. The longest putt competition was won by Noel Widmayer. He also won the closest-to-the-pin competition.
Senior League, Tuesday - Noel Widmayer was the low gross winner. Low net winner was Dwight Kramer. Closest-to-the-pin competition was won by John Dahlgren.
Atigun Cup Update - Gross Division: Mark Griffin 17.5 points, Gordon Griffin 16, Chris Morin 15, Doug Jung 12, Todd Eskelin 11.5, Tommy Carver 11, Ken Liedes 9.5, Rene Alvarez 9.5, Eddie Sibilboro 4, Rich Edwards 4, Greg Harrington 2, Bob Sizemore 2 and Jim Bradford 2. Net Division: Ryan Hardy 22.5 points, Bill Bushnell 20.5, Mike Kebschull 16.5, John Glidden 13, Jake Eubank 12, Charlie K 11, Kirk Hyman 10.5 and Jeff Johns 4. The next event that qualifies for the Atigun competition is the Kenai Golf Association Tourney today.
As always, see you on the course.


Fri, 06/22/2018 - 23:44

South saddles Twins with 1st league loss

Host South handed the American Legion Twins their first league loss of the season, taking down the local nine 5-4 on Friday.

Read more