Jung, Hardy win Atigun Cup

The season-long points race came to an end Sunday.

The race is comprised of eight tournaments throughout the season. This has been a great competition all year, spread across two divisions.


The first division is called the Gross Division and the second is the Net Division.

In the Gross Division, Doug Jung and Tommy Carver battled for first place. Doug played superbly and closed out Tommy on No. 15. Doug was very consistent all day, keeping the ball in the fairway. Tommy fought hard and stayed with Doug for most of the day. Congratulations to both Doug and Tommy on a job well done.

Mark Griffin and Gordon Griffin battled for third place in the Gross Division. Gordon closed out Mark on No. 16. It was excellent competition all day.

In the Net Division, Ryan Hardy and Charlie Kahakauwila had a very exciting match.

Ryan finally closed out Charlie on No. 17. It was a very exciting match, with Ryan making some key shots in tough situations. Congratulations, Ryan and Charlie.

Bill Bushnell and Kirk Hyman battled for third place. Kirk finally closed out Bill and finished in third place. Congratulations, guys.

I would like to thank Atigun and Bob Sizemore for sponsoring this event over the year. Thank you for all your help and support.

On Sept. 13, the seniors took to the course again. Low gross was won by Skip Dove. Low net was won by Jim Bradford, and the closest to the pin competition was also won by Skip Dove.

On Tuesday, the seniors played again. Gordon Griffin won low gross and Jerry Norris won low net. Gordon Griffin also won the closest to the pin competition on No. 5.

It has been a great season at the Kenai Golf Course. I would like to thank everyone for your help and support during the season.

We are already looking for to the next season. Projects are being planned for course improvement.

Come on out and enjoy some great fall golf during the last week of the season.

As always, see you on the course.



Sun, 01/21/2018 - 00:27

Crawford, Anderson win run at Freezer Food Series

Mike Crawford and Megan Anderson took titles at the sixth Freezer Food Series race of the season at Tsalteshi Trails.

Read more
Sun, 01/21/2018 - 00:49

Brahmas sweep Brown Bears