Bulldogs win Denali/Kachemak crown

Nikiski gets wins from 5 wrestlers

The Nikiski wrestling team won its third consecutive Class 1-2-3A Denali/Kachemak Conference wrestling title Saturday in Seward behind five individual champions.

Josh Brown, Kaden Spurgeon, Corey Green, Lincoln Johnson and Henry Eide took the top spots in their respective weight classes, helping the Bulldogs to 213 points. Valdez placed second at 195.5, while Skyview was third at 186. Homer took fifth and Seward grabbed sixth.

“It was very special,” Nikiski coach Adam Anders said. “We had some bumps in the road the past couple weeks, so to have the guys pull together and wrestle well, it was a really a big deal.”

Nikiski qualified 11 athletes to the 1-2-3A state championships, which are Friday and Saturday at Nikiski.

Saturday, Josh Brown captured gold in the 145-pound weight class. 

Anders said Brown, who has suffered from a leg injury much of the year, wrestled perhaps the most exciting match of the tournament when he beat Michael Ace of Valdez 10-4 in the finals. 

“He had to overcome some pain against a really high-level opponent and wrestled extremely well,” Anders said. “He showed a lot of poise and character to win the championship.”

Spurgeon, a defending state champion, cruised through the bracket at 152. Green took the crown at 160, while Johnson was tops at 182. Eide won the heavyweight division.

Also advancing to state were Dakoda Neely (113), Tyler Handley (113), Trey Zimmerman (120), Mike Stangel (138), Morgan Sauve (160) and Orry Hyatt (195).  

“Several of the wrestlers had some outstanding moments,” Anders said.

Skyview didn’t receive any individual champions, but had a series of close calls.

Hannah Hutchison placed second at 106, TJ Checketts took the same spot at 126 and Cody Williams was the runner-up at 152. Also placing second for the Panthers were Sam Janorschke (132), Alex Rodriguez (182) and John Alexander (heavyweight).

Austin Craig (106) and Jacob Lawson (220) earned third-place finishes for Skyview, which advanced nine athletes to state.

Homer will have five wrestlers at the big show, led by Mark McGregor, who was second at 160. Seward, which got five athletes through, was led by Jed Wilde. Wilde took first at 126.


Team Results

1. Nikiski, 213; 2. Valdez, 195.5; 3. Skyview, 186; 4. Houston, 129.5; 5. Homer, 121.5; 6. Seward, 111; 7. Grace Christian, 108.5 8. ACS, 93; 9. Cordova, 76; 10. Hutchison, 73; 11. Eielson, 69; 12. Glennallen, 47.5; 13. Galena, 40; 14. Voznesenka, 22; 15. Delta, 7;

16. Cook Inlet Academy, 3.

Championship matches

106 — Wesley Gilroy, ACS, dec. Hannah Hutchison, Sky, 3-1; 113 — Kiefer Groeneveld, Val, dec. Dakoda Neely, Nik, 3-1; 120 — Anthony Walsh, Gra, dec. Nate Ezell, Eie, 4-2; 126 — Jed Wilde, Sew, p. TJ Checketts, Sky, 3:12; 132 — Austin Rake, Val, p. Sam Janorschke, Sky, 4:00; 138 — Isaac Deaton, Val, dec. Drew Drake, Hou, 13-7; 145 — Josh Brown, Nik, dec. Michael Ace, Val, 10-4; 152 — Kaden Spurgeon, Nik, major dec. Cody Williams, Sky, 18-5; 160 — Corey Green, Nik, dec. Mark McGregor, Hom, 10-3; 170 — Justin Allen, Val, p. Matt Adams, Cor, 5:07; 182 — Lincoln Johnson, Nik, p. Alex Rodriguez, Sky, 3:03; 195 — Sam Rininger, Sew, dec. Joe Resetarits, Hom, 12-5; 220 — Luke Wagner, Hou, p. Sol, Finau, Gle, 1:46; 285 — Henry Eide, Nik, p. John Alexander, Sky, 5:40.

Third-place matches

106 — Austin Craig, Sky, dec. Dakota Gardner, Eie, 7-5 OT; 113 — Tyler Handley, Nik, dec. Jeremy Schild, Gra, 12-6; 120 — David Towne, Val, dec. Davila Cesar, Hou, 12-5; 126 — Caj Rohrer, Val, injury dec. Cody Gilroy, ACS; 132 — Keefe McIntosh, Val, p. DJ Marsengill, Hom, 2:24; 138 — Anthony Friese, Gra, major dec. Mike Stangel, Nik, 13-2; 145 — Brian Allen, Val, injury dec. Kalen McIntosh, Val; 152 — Brandon Hursh, dec. Gabe Simple, Gal, 6-4 OT; 160 — Mason Kimber, Cor, p. Cody Barber, Hou, 1:31; 170 — Jake Davis, Hou, p. Tyrone Anderson, Sew, 4:47; 182 — Luke Reitveld, Gle, dec. Mick Wells, Hom, 6-2; 195 — Josh Stephenson, Hut, p. Andruw Hoffman, Hut, 1:31; 220 — Jacob Lawson, Sky, p. David Ward, Gra, 2:23; 285 — Clay Easterling, Hut, p. Tyler Scott, ACS, 0:35.

Fifth-place matches

106 — Calvin Johnson, Hom, p. Gavril Kalugin, Voz, 1:46; 113 — Terrance Anogiak, Sew, p. Austin Deville, ACS, 2:34; 120 — Trey Zimmerman, Nik, dec. Grant Viliquette, Sky, 9-7; 126 — Calen Wilbur, Hou, major dec. Greg Brown, Nik, 17-8; 132 Paul Johnston, Gra, dec, Ryan Radmer, Hou, 6-0; — 138 — Carsen Trumblee, Cor, p. Harley Wells, Hom, 1:12; 145 — Kyle Zimmerman, Sky, p Jacob Nohr, ACS, 1:56; 152 — Rudy Martinez, Hut, p. Nick Markowitz, Sew, 4:54; 160 — Morgan Sauve, Nik, p. Wyatt Dunlap, Eie, 4:19; 170 — Adam Brockman, Gal, major dec. Brandon Kelley, ACS, 13-2; 182 — Austin Elsburry, Hut, CJ Cyphers, Hou, p. 1:44; 195 — Orry Hyatt, Nik, won by forfeit. 220 — Jesse Roehl, Hut, p. Terrence Korenev, 5:20; 285 — Trent Jackson, Hut, p. Landon Simmer, Gra, 3:09.


Fri, 02/24/2017 - 00:57

Thursday prep hoops: Kenai boys defeat North Pole

The Kenai Central boys rolled to a 71-55 nonconference victory Thursday night over North Pole on Cliff Massie court in Kenai. Read more

Fri, 02/24/2017 - 00:45

Thursday: Davis runs 2nd in Iron Dog

Cory Davis of Soldotna and Dusty VanMeter of Kasilof both boosted their chances of finishing high in the 2017 Iron Dog snowmachine race Thursday with... Read more

Fri, 02/24/2017 - 00:45

Service boys, West girls take 1st-day leads at state skiing

The Soldotna boys and Kenai Central girls were fastest among peninsula teams on Thursday, the first day of the state cross-country skiing meet at Kincaid... Read more

Nikiski girls 2nd in latest WPI release

In the latest Win Percentage Index (WPI) release published online Wednesday by the Alaska Schools Activities Association, the Nikiski girls were ranked second among Class... Read more