Ellery Steffensen wears NLC crown

Freshman Ellery Steffensen from Kenai won the 132-pound weight class at the Northern Lights Conference wrestling championships Saturday at Kodiak.
He pinned Cameron White from Kodiak in 3 minutes, 13 seconds, to share the outstanding wrestler award with Tyler Adams of Wasilla.
Steffensen’s sister, Hope, also made it to the finals. She ultimately lost an 11-3 decision in the 106-pound class to Andrew Caballa of Kodiak.
Soldotna had three wrestlers competing in a final match.
Defending champion Auston Tennis was pinned by Tyler Adams of Wasilla in 3:58 to finish second in the 145-pound class.
Kade Foust was defeated by Simon Root from Colony in the 160-pound division. The decision was 9-2.
Troy Strieff lost to Charlie Johnson from Kodiak in a 14-10 decision in the 182-pound weight class.
Kodiak won the overall team championship in the two-day tournament with a combined score of 304 points for their first conference crown since 1992, and Kodiak’s Sean Costello was named coach of the year.. Kenai finished fifth overall with 94.5 points, and Soldotna finished sixth with 89 points.  
In the third-place matches, Jared Chavez of Soldotna pinned Gabe Burns from Kodiak in 1:37 to win the 126-pound consolation match.
Devon Carter from Kenai won the 138-pound third-place match in a 15-8 decision over Palmer’s Collin Bendixen.
Matt Aho from Kenai lost his 160-pound consolation match to Josh Yavorsky of Kodiak, in a 13-2 decision.
Brad Smithwick of Kenai won his 170-pound division match by injury default over Slade Storud of Palmer.
In the fifth-place rounds, Napolean Media from Colony won by forfeit over Aaron Troxell-Tom of Kenai in the 126-pound match.
In the 182-pound match, Tyler Brown from Kenai was pinned by Seth Root of Colony in 2:54.
The top six in each weight class qualify for state.

1. Kodiak 304.5; 2. Wasilla 274.5; 3. Palmer 197.5; 4. Colony 191.5; 5. Kenai 94.5; 6. Soldotna 89.
106 — Andrew Caballa, Kod, m.d. Hope Steffensen, Ken, 11-3. 113 — Levi Fried, Kod, d. Andrew Shannon, Was, 3-1. 120 — Abe Fox, Was, d. Francis Llorente, Kod, 3-2, 2 OT. 126 — Nathaniel Pempek, Pal, d. Spencer Adams, Col, 12-6. 132 — Ellery Steffensen, Ken, p. Cameron White, Kod, 3:13. 138 — Nate McKimson, Was, inj. def. Bryce Serna, Was. 145 — Tyler Adams, Was, p. Auston Tennis, Sol, 3:58. 152 — Sawyer Root, Col, d. Kevin Lepola, Kod, 8-6, OT. 160 — Simon Root, Col, d. Kade Foust, Sol, 9-2. 170 —
Kerry Powers, Kod, t.f. Chris Parsons, Kod, 18-3. 182 — Charlie Johnson, Kod, d. Troy Strieff, Sol, 14-10. 195 — Austin Gonzalez, Was, d. Ian MacKenzie, Col, 8-2. 220 —
Adam Akelkok, Was, p. Ty Farber, Col, 3:57. 285 — Brian Thompson, Pal, d. Ryan Pomreke, Was, 3-1, OT.
106 — Brandon Abbott, Was, d. Mason Cochran, Pal, 5-4. 113 — Wade Booth, Col, p. Jay-Ar Small, Kod, 1:30. 120 — Eddy Burris, Kod, d. Shannon Carpenter, Was, 7-3. 126 — Jared Chavez, Sol, p. Gabe Burns, Kod, 1:37. 132 — Eli Fouch, Pal, d. Blake Marks, Was, 2-1. 138 — Devon Carter, Ken, d. Collin Bendixen, Pal, 15-8. 145 — Luke Huen, Pal, inj. def. Reuben Ivanoff, Kod. 152 — Branden Canete, Kod, d. Christian Lowe, Was, 11-5. 160 — Josh Yavorsky, Kod, m.d. Matt Aho, Ken, 13-2. 170 — Brad Smithwick, Ken, inj. def. Slade Storud, Pal. 182 — Alex Fuller, Was, d. Caleb Nielson, Pal, 3-1. 195 — Logan Owens, Kod, p. Ben Button, Pal, 3:22. 220 — Cole Frohling, Pal, p. Matthew Olsen, Kod, 1:33. 285 — Mua Sega, Kod, d. Justin Booth, Col, 10-6.
106 — Leo Cruz, p. Soren Simpson, Col. 113 — Donovan Ellibee, d. Elijah Hall, Was. 120 — Aaron Molesky, Pal, inj. def. Justin Gentz, Pal. 126 — Napolean Media, Col, win by forfeit, Aaron Troxell-Tom, Ken. 132 — Kamber Lucas, Col, p. Wyatt Nelson, Was, 1:21. 138 — Hunter Molesky, Pal, d. Justin Goff, Kod, 7-0. 145 — Jeremy Warzewick, Col, p. Daniel Medina, Pal, 3:53. 152 — Mitchell Rilatos, Was, inj. def. AJ Gentz, Pal. 160 — Charles Mincher, Was, d. Derrek Deal, Kod, 11-5. 170 — Hayden Seltenreich, Was, p. Andrew Knowles, Col, 1:22. 182 — Seth Root, Col, p. Tyler Brown, Ken, 2:54. 195 — Tyler Seims, Was, inj. def. Joel Ryno, Pal. 220 — Andrew Pettit, Was, p. Bigley, Kod. Leo Sega, Kod, p. Mitchell Daigle, Col.


Sat, 05/26/2018 - 01:40

No. 7 seed Palmer wins Southcentral baseball title

In a wacky Southcentral Conference baseball tournament in Homer, one trend was solid — power gravitated to the north.

Read more
Sat, 05/26/2018 - 00:54

Ostrander qualifies for nationals in 3,000-meter steeplechase

Allie Ostrander, a 2015 graduate of Kenai Central, earned the right to defend her 3,000-meter steeplechase national title Friday at the NCAA West Preliminary Championships... Read more