All-State basketball teams announced

Nikolaevsk's Bea Klaich named coach of year

The Alaska All-State Basketball Team was announced this week. The team is voted on by the Alaska Association of Basketball Coaches and compiled by Van Williams of Alaska Media LLC, which owns and operates The Arctic Sounder, The Bristol Bay Times and The Dutch Harbor Fisherman.


Nikolaevsk’s Bea Klaich was named Class 2A girls coach of the year for leading her team to its first state berth since 1991.

Soldotna junior Kaillee Skjold made the Class 4A first team by leading her team to the first back-to-back state berths in program history. Skjold was the Northern Lights Co-MVP along with state player of the year Alyssa Hutchins of Wasilla.

Megan Bauder of Cook Inlet Academy made the Class 2A girl first team for directing her team to a third-straight Peninsula Conference crown, while CIA’s David Reischach also won a Peninsula Conference crown and first-team honors. High-scoring Andre Tipikin of Nikolaevsk joined Reischach on the Class 2A boys first team.

Class 3A Seward put Jalen Terry and Meg Berry, who led her team to the Southcentral Conference title, on the second team.

CIA’s Kelsie Leaf and Nikolaevsk’s Kilina Klaich also were second-team honorees.

SoHi’s Evan Withrow and Kenai Central’s AJ Hull, who led his team to a 4A state berth, made the 4A third team.

Ninilchik’s Jack Wheeler made the 2A third team.


Class 4A boys


Player of the Year: Connor Devine, Wasilla.

Coach of the Year: Rob Galosich, Dimond.

First team — Connor Devine, Wasilla; Ryden Hines, Dimond; Adam Klie, Service; Colter Lasher, Dimond; Treshawn King-Dunbar, Bartlett.

Second team — Trenton Anthony, Bartlett; Connor Looney, Palmer; Braydon Kuiper, Wasilla; Amu Aukisitino, Service; Kyle Day, Ketchikan.

Third team — Lance Ibesate, Juneau-Douglas; Evan Withrow, Soldotna; AJ Hull, Kenai; Marques Robinson, Service; Kendall Brown, West.

Class 4A girls

Player of the Year: Alyssa Hutchins, Wasilla.

Coach of the Year: Steve Caciari, West Valley.

First team — Alyssa Hutchins, Wasilla; Sierra Afoa, Dimond; Hannah Matson, West Valley; Kaillee Skjold, Soldotna; Mary Klapperich, Colony.

Second team — Taylor Blake, Palmer; Alexis Imoe, Wasilla; Aminata Cole, Dimond; Esra Siddeek, Juneau-Douglas; Savannah James, Houston.

Third team — Gabi Fenumiai, Juneau-Douglas; Caitlyn Brice, West Valley ; Alysha Devine, Wasilla; Josie Broderick, North Pole; Taria Page, East.

Class 3A boys

Player of the Year: Gus Simmers, ACS.

Coach of the Year: Chuck Boerger, Grace Christian.

First team — Gus Simmers, ACS; LaDarius Milton, Monroe Catholic; Colin Long, Barrow; Scooter Bynum, Monroe Catholic; Calvin Hoffman, ACS.

Second team — Mik Potrzuski, Sitka; Tyler Swinton, Haines; Jalen Terry, Seward; Nathan Blanford, Nome; Eddie Benson, Barrow

Third team — Tyler Wells, Monroe Catholic; John Michaels, Monroe Catholic ; Darren Silas, Hutchison; Glacier Rohrer, Valdez; Jared Miller, Dillingham.

Class 3A girls

Player of the Year: Jenna Buchanan, Galena.

Coach of the Year: Levi Duca, Dillingham

First team — Jenna Buchanan, Galena; Lynette Hepa, Barrow; Kristin Smeaton, Dillingham; Mimi Wood, Hutchison; Dessirea Kenworthy, Kotzebue.

Second team — Caitlin Auble, Valdez; Sariah Ady, Sitka; Meg Berry, Seward; Devynn Johnson, Nome; Alex Derifield, Valdez.

Third team — Melissa Castle, Craig; Kira Polk, Bethel; Dallas Dickerson, ACS; Carolyn Kvernvik, Petersburg; Misa Webber, Cordova.

Class 2A girls

Player of the Year: Brianna Kirk, Noatak 

Coach of the Year: Bea Klaich, Nikoleavsk

First team — Brianna Kirk, Noatak; Tina Esbenshade, Yakutat ; Megan Bauder, Cook Inlet Academy; Chelsea Tooyak, Point Hope; Rori Leverton, Skagway.

Second team — Kelsie Leaf, Cook Inlet Academy; Abbie Koenig, Point Hope; Cassi Williams, Klawock; Kilina Klaich, Nikoleavsk; Lorenda Mitchell, Selawik.

Third team -— Caroline Long, Point Hope; Shanelle Coopchiak, Togiak; Shanyce Pacheco, Bristol Bay; Trisha Norton, Noatak; Tonya Busse, Klawock.

Class 2A boys

Player of the Year: Danny Wells, Noorvik.

Coach of the Year: Darren Zibell, Noorvik

First team — Danny Wells, Noorvik; Stuart Towarak, Unalakleet; David Reischach, Cook Inlet Academy; Chance Hunter, Scammon Bay; Andre Tipikin, Nikoleavsk. 

Second team — Anthony Ashby, Noatak; Ronald Oviok III, Point Hope; William Carle, Hydaburg; Henry Kanulie, Akiachak; Walter Tebbits, Noorvik.

Third team — Jack Wheeler, Ninilchik; Nathan Hadley, Buckland; Jalen Katchatag, Unalakleet; Denzel Tooyak, Point Hope; Justin Ulak, Scammon Bay.

Class 1A girls

Player of the Year: Kandace Carroll, Fort Yukon.

Coach of the Year: Ed Lester, Newhalen.

First team — Kandace Carroll, Fort Yukon; Marina Koonooka, Gambell; JoJo Nashookpuk, Alak; Sierra Nickoli, Newhalen; Maggie Beans, St. Mary’s.

Second team — Denise Fernandez, Shishmaref; Tracy Ahnangnatoguk, Brevig Mission; Ayla Rickteroff, Newhalen; Jazzlyn Garnie, Teller; Michelle Ningeulook, Golovin

Third team — Ardyce Nayakik, Alak; Emma Weyiouanna, Shishmaref; Amber Barr, Kiana; Trish Morgan, Aniak; Maxine Kimoktoak, Koyuk.

Class 1A boys

Player of the Year: John Peterson, Golovin.

Coach of the Year: Wayne Morgan, Aniak.

First team — John Peterson, Golovin; Tyler Anelon, Newhalen; Joe Kohler, New Stuyahok; Harry Morgan, Aniak; Joe Jemewouk, Elim

Second team — Vernon Rock, Shaktoolik; John Tretikoff, Newhalen; Travis Tunguing, New Stuyahok; Shield Stalker, Kivalina; Brandon Tagarook, Nunamiut.

Third team — Eknaty Cobb, Newhalen; Aaron Solomon, Fort Yukon; Tyler Henderson, Huslia; Terrell Tanner, St. Michael; Brandon Long, St. Michael.


Sat, 05/26/2018 - 01:40

No. 7 seed Palmer wins Southcentral baseball title

In a wacky Southcentral Conference baseball tournament in Homer, one trend was solid — power gravitated to the north.

Read more
Sat, 05/26/2018 - 00:54

Ostrander qualifies for nationals in 3,000-meter steeplechase

Allie Ostrander, a 2015 graduate of Kenai Central, earned the right to defend her 3,000-meter steeplechase national title Friday at the NCAA West Preliminary Championships... Read more