Oilers defeat All-Stars in opener

The Peninsula Oilers opened their season with an 8-1, nonconference victory over the Alaska All-Stars on Monday at Coral Seymour Memorial Park in Kenai.


The All-Stars are a group of the best players from the men’s league in Anchorage. The same two squads play tonight at Seymour Park at 7 p.m. before the Oilers open up defense of their Alaska Baseball League crown when they host the Alaska Goldpanners of Fairbanks at 7 p.m. Wednesday.

Fans at Monday’s opener braved gusty winds and saw many familiar faces from the 2011 edition of the Oilers that won the ABL and finished second at the National Baseball Congress World Series in Wichita, Kan.

Returner Jordan Mills, from St. Mary’s College in California, got the start for the Oilers and picked up the win. Mills pitched five innings, giving up two hits while striking out seven and walking three.

The Oilers closed out the game by committee. Returner JD Salles, from Fresno State, pitched one inning and struck out one. Logan McAnallen, from the University of Michigan, pitched one inning and struck out two.

Brandon Warner, from Cal State Northridge, pitched one inning and struck out two. Louis Cohen pitched the final inning.

Getting the start for the All-Stars was Mike Smith, a former player for the Post 20 Twins. Smith went seven innings and gave up six earned runs and 10 hits while striking out seven and walking three.

Despite temperatures in the low 50s, Smith was able to throw 124 pitches.

The Oilers went 11 for 37 from the plate. Leading the charge was returner Jeff Yamaguchi, from Long Beach State, by going 3 for 4 with two runs.

Josh Miller, the brother of 2011 Oilers player Mike Miller, went 2 for 5. Miller goes to the University of San Francisco.

Jake Alvarez, of Fresno State, was 2 for 5 with two RBI, while Nigel Nootbaar, of the University of Southern California, was 2 for 3 with two RBI.


Sun, 05/27/2018 - 00:44

State track: SoHi’s Pieh topples Pili