Kenai Central's Ostrander wins junior girls Mount Marathon

Seward's Knotek, Anchorage's Brooks and Novakovich also get wins

Allie Ostrander, who will be a sophomore at Kenai Central, defended her Mount Marathon junior girls title Wednesday in Seward.


Ostrander, 15, won the race halfway up and down the 3,022-foot mountain for the fourth-straight time. She still has two years of eligibility left in the race.

With a wet trail making footing treacherous, Ostrander was not able to match her girls record from a year ago. She finished at 32 minutes, 50 seconds, compared to last year’s 30:32.

Despite the conditions, Ostrander still was able to do some record-setting in finishing fifth overall in the race.

She set the age-group record in the 15- to 17-year-old division. By taking 11 seconds off the 1997 record of Aubrey Smith, Ostrander took possession of all three girls age-group records.

Miles Knotek, 17, also repeated in the boys junior race. Last year, Knotek finished in 26:18 to run what was believed to be the third-fastest junior time in history. This year, Knotek was one minute slower.

Others from the Kenai Peninsula in the top 20 of the junior race were Seward’s Michael Marshall in third at 28:48, Seward’s Dylan Gillespie at 11th at 35:02, Seward’s Matthew Moore in 12th at 35:11, Seward’s Nicholas Zweifel at 13th at 35:28, Moose Pass’ Paxson Berry at 15th at 36:16, Moose Pass’ Tannen Berry at 16th at 36:25, Seward’s Brandon Moore at 17th at 37:04, Seward’s Thomas Zweifel at 19th at 37:17 and Kenai’s Josiah Martin at 20th at 37:17.

In the women’s race all the way up the mountain, Holly Brooks, 30, of Anchorage won after finishing second in Mount Marathon three times.

Brooks set a personal record in finishing in 51:53. Lauren Fritz, 24, of Chugiak finished second.

Allison Barnwell, 20, of Seward led Peninsula finishers by taking fourth in 55:08. Rachel Dow, 33, of Seward was fifth in 58:31; Denali Foldager, 22, of Seward was sixth in 59:07.

Others from the Peninsula in the top 20 were Seward’s Karol Fink in 13th at 1:02:18, Seward’s Rubye Elhard in 14th at 1:03:35 and Cooper Landing’s Cory Route in 19th at 1:05:13.

Matt Novakovich, 38, of Anchorage won the men’s race in 44:07 for the fourth-fastest time in race history.

Trond Flagstad, 42, of Anchorage was second in 44:26 after winning in 2008 and 2010. Matias Saari, 41, of Anchorage was third in 45:13 after winning in 2009. Brent Knight, a graduate of Soldotna High School now living in Anchorage, finished sixth at 46:28.

Also, Seward’s Erik Johnson was 17th at 48:59.


Kenai Golf Report: Boys and Girls Club event nears

I would like to thank everyone for all the positive feedback on the condition of the Kenai Golf Course. It is much appreciated. The greens,... Read more

Oilers cruise past Pilots

The visiting Peninsula Oilers defeated the Anchorage Glacier Pilots 10-6 on Monday in Alaska Baseball League play to finish their eight-game road trip in style.... Read more

Oilers, Chinooks split doubleheader

The visiting Peninsula Oilers split a doubleheader with the Chugiak-Eagle River Chinooks on Sunday in Alaska Baseball League play, winning the first game 2-1 before... Read more