Arellano wins Donnie Morgan Kenai Golf Course club title

Gilbert Arellano fired a 13-over 157 to win the Donnie Morgan Kenai Golf Course Club Championship on Saturday and Sunday at Kenai Golf Course.


Arellano came into Sunday trailing Rich Edwards by three strokes and Todd Eskelin by one stroke after Edwards had a 76 and Eskelin carded a 78 on Saturday. Arellano was able to shoot a 78 on Sunday, while Eskelin had an 80 and Edwards an 82.

It was the first club championship for Arellano, who moved back to the area from northern California this year.

"I was playing pretty good, but I almost threw it away on the last hole," Arellano said. "I made a double bogey on the last hole when I shouldn't have."

Eskelin's performance easily won him the net championship in the first flight. Once handicaps were added in, Eskelin had a 144, while Mark Griffin took second at 150 and John Dahlgren took third at 150.

Edwards actually made his run for the championship out of the second flight. Derek Kaufman, the tournament director, said he wanted to divide the first and second flight with equal amounts of players. However, the field was loaded win single-digit handicappers.

"Rich Edwards is not a second-flight golfer," Kaufman said. "It doesn't surprise me at all that he competed for the club championship."

In the second flight, Rich Edwards was low net with 140, while Bob Bush was second with 140. The two decided the top spot with a playoff, and Edwards won the playoff on the first hole. Craig Jung, who fired a 78 on Saturday, was third in second-flight net at 141.


Donnie Morgan Kenai Golf Course Club Championship

Saturday, Sunday at Kenai Golf Course

First flight


Gilbert Arellano7978157159

Todd Eskelin7880158144

Gordon Griffin8378161153

Mark Griffin8183164150

John Dahlgren8282164150

Doug Jung8780167155

Greg Harrington8285167151

Mark Azzara8187168152

Derek Kaufman8987176160

Chris Murray8691177161

Ken Liedes9285177161

Rene Alvarez9186177161

Second flight


Rich Edwards7682158140

Craig Jung7885163141

Chuck Rupenthal8685171145

Jesse Wade8591176158

Kirk Hyman8592177153

Tim Reese9187178158

Jim Legner9088178148

Bob Bush8989178140

Keith Stuart8990179149

Charles Rehder9586181151

Shane Zimmerman8893181151

Joe Deveaux9490184154

Andy Anderson95100195151

Clayton Dolan94103197171



Thu, 06/21/2018 - 23:54

Enjoying the silence

Fri, 06/22/2018 - 12:49

Oilers pitchers shut down Chinooks

Ostrander named to Academic All-America First Team

Allie Ostrander, a 2015 graduate of Kenai Central High School, was named to the 2017-18 Google Cloud Academic All-America Division I Cross Country and Track... Read more