NLC announces all-conference squad

The Northern Lights Conference postseason awards looked a lot like play on the field this year — Soldotna was dominant, everybody else was pretty equal.


The Stars romped through the conference with an undefeated record, then went on to win the medium-schools state title Saturday.

Soldotna took three of the five major awards, placed nine on first-team offense and six on first-team defense.

When the Stars weren’t playing, the rest of the conference games were usually pretty close. Homer, which finished second in the conference, got a major award when Cam Wyatt was named coach of the year. The Mariners also had one player on first-team defense.

Kodiak, which took third in the league and took the league’s final playoff slot, had one player on the offensive first team.

Kenai, which finished fourth in the league, had three on the first team on offense and two on the first team on defense.

Houston, which finished fifth, had one of first-team offense and two on first-team defense, while last-place Skyview had one on first-team offense and two on first-team defense.

The major award winners for the Stars were quarterback Noah Fowler winning offensive player of the year, Zane Miller winning defensive player of the year and Phil Leck winning assistant coach of the year.

Fowler gave the Stars valuable versatility with his passing. He finished the regular season 26 of 56 for 476 yards and 12 touchdowns.

Miller not only caught 12 balls for 253 yards from his tight end position, but he also led Soldotna’s swarming linebackers. Not only did SoHi lead the Peninsula on defense, but the Stars created turnovers and scored on those turnovers all year. That’s why defensive coordinator Leck got the nod.

The final major award winner was Kenai lineman Duncan Brewer, who also was a first-team guard and first-team defensive interior lineman.

Soldotna’s first-team offensive players were Fowler at quarterback, Colton Young at running back, Miller at tight end, Jonathon Alexander and Daniel Rosin at tackle, Jarrett Urban at guard, Gavin Larson at center, Cameron Grothe at kicker and Young at return specialist.

The first-team players on defense were Troy Streiff at outside linebacker, Miller at inside linebacker, Fowler and Young at defensive back, Alexander at interior lineman and Reid Schmelzenbach at utility player.

Homer’s lone first-team nod went to Zack Fraley at outside linebacker.

In addition to Brewer, Kenai got first-team awards for Grayden Mendenhall at fullback, Brad Smithwick at long snapper and Mendenhall at inside linebacker.

Skyview’s first-team players were Tyler Howell at wide receiver, DJ Collier at defensive back and DJ Tourtelot at defensive interior line.

Northern Lights Conference
All-Conference Team

Lineman of the year — Duncan Brewer, Kenai.

Offensive player of the year — Noah Fowler, Soldotna.

Defensive player of the year — Zane Miller, Soldotna.

Coach of the year — Cam Wyatt, Homer.

Assistant coach of the year — Phil Leck, Soldotna.

First team


Quarterback — Noah Fowler, Soldotna.

Running back — Waylon Soptick, Houston; Colton Young, Soldotna.

Fullback — Grayden Mendenhall, Kenai.

Wide receiver — Tyler Howell, Skyview; Fredy Sorto, Kodiak.

Tight end — Zane Miller, Soldotna.

Tackle — Jonathon Alexander, Soldotna; Daniel Rosin, Soldotna.

Guard — Duncan Brewer, Kenai; Jarrett Urban, Soldotna.

Center — Gavin Larson, Soldotna.

Long snapper — Brad Smithwick, Kenai.

Kicker — Cameron Grothe, Soldotna.

Return specialist — Colton Young, Soldotna.


Outside linebacker — Zack Fraley, Homer; Troy Streiff, Soldotna.

Inside linebacker — Grayden Mendenhall, Kenai; Zane Miller, Soldotna.

Defensive backs — DJ Collier, Skyview; Noah Fowler, Soldotna; Colton Young, Soldotna.

Interior lineman — Jonathon Alexander, Soldotna; Duncan Brewer, Kenai; Allen Reeder, Houston; DJ Tourtelot, Skyview.

Punter — Tyler Forto, Houston.

Utility player — Reid Schmelzenbach, Soldotna.

Second team


Quarterback — Josh Yavorsky, Kodiak.

Running back — Jason Daniels, Kenai; Mark McGregor, Homer; Konstantin Reutov, Homer.

Fullback — Hunter Smith, Houston.

Wide receiver — Quinn Daugharty, Homer.

Tight end — Tommy Bowe, Homer.

Tackle — Sam Deatherage, Skyview; Zack Fraley, Homer.

Guard — Jake Lawson, Skyview; Patrick Rainwater, Homer; Brad Smithwick, Kenai.

Center — Gabe Holley, Skyview; Jingo Olaes, Kodiak.

Long snapper — Zane Miller, Soldotna.


Outside linebacker — Tommy Bowe, Homer; Jason Daniels, Kenai.

Inside linebacker — Marcus Thornburgh, Skyview; Dokota Wibbe, Kodiak.

Defensive backs — Eddy Burris, Kodiak; Mark McGregor, Homer; TJ Wagoner, Kenai.

Interior linemen — Jingo Olaes, Kodiak; Daniel Rosin, Soldotna; Dylan Smith, Soldotna; Seth Starr, Kodiak; Steven Young, Kenai.

Punter — TJ Wagoner, Kenai; Colton Young, Soldotna.

Utility player — Sheldon Hutt, Homer.

Honorable mention


Running back — Drew Gibbs, Soldotna.

Fullback — Tommy Bowe, Homer.

Tackle — Tim Davis, Houston; Chris Lawson, Kenai.

Center — Gage Flyum, Homer; Doug Hepler, Houston; Trei Royals, Kenai.


Outside linebacker — Kyle Foree, Kenai.

Inside linebacker — Hunter Harris, Homer; Jake Kooly, Soldotna; Brad Smithwick, Kenai.

Defensive backs — Joseph Cardoza, Homer; Noah Swenson, Homer.

Interior lineman — Juan Rodriguez, Skyview; Lai Saechao, Houston.

Punter — Justin West, Skyview.

Utility player — Kyle Zimmerman, Skyview.


Wed, 06/20/2018 - 00:44

Kenai Golf Report: Boys and Girls Club event nears

I would like to thank everyone for all the positive feedback on the condition of the Kenai Golf Course. It is much appreciated. The greens,... Read more

Oilers cruise past Pilots

The visiting Peninsula Oilers defeated the Anchorage Glacier Pilots 10-6 on Monday in Alaska Baseball League play to finish their eight-game road trip in style.... Read more

Oilers, Chinooks split doubleheader

The visiting Peninsula Oilers split a doubleheader with the Chugiak-Eagle River Chinooks on Sunday in Alaska Baseball League play, winning the first game 2-1 before... Read more