SoHi dominates medium-schools all-state team

The Soldotna football team dominated the medium-schools football division this season, going undefeated against medium schools and winning its first medium-schools state title.


The Stars also dominated the medium-schools all-state team announced Sunday by the Alaska Football Coaches Association.

The Stars put nine players on the offensive first team and six on the defensive first team. No other squad had more than two on either team.

Soldotna also nabbed three of the major awards. Noah Fowler was offensive player of the year, Zane Miller was defensive player of the year and Phil Leck was assistant of the year.

Duncan Brewer of Kenai Central was the lineman of the year, while Homer’s Camron Wyatt won coach of the year for leading his squad to the state final for the second straight year.

Fowler was a first-teamer at quarterback and defensive back. He finished 36 of 86 for 658 yards and 15 touchdowns while being intercepted four times. He also rushed 41 times for 195 yards.

SoHi coach Galen Brantley Jr. said SoHi’s passing game made the difference this year.

“That separated us from just about everybody else at our level,” he said. “Noah did a nice job not just throwing the ball, but also running the ball and with his leadership.”

Miller was a first-team tight end and inside linebacker.

“As a group, this was one of the best linebacking corps we’ve had at SoHi, and Zane was the centerpiece of that,” Brantley Jr. said. “He’s such a physical presence inside, at 6-4, and he’s a real mobile athlete as well.”

Miller had 78 assisted tackles and 40 unassisted, while getting 17 tackles for loss, eight forced fumbles and three fumble recoveries. He had 276 defensive points for SoHi. The next closest on the team was 181.

On offense, Miller had 17 catches for 290 yards, and Brantley Jr. said the tight end was also a phenomenal blocker.

“He’s one of those kids that is going to be very difficult to replace,” Brantley Jr. said.

Leck was responsible for a defense that not only got turnovers, but scored off those turnovers.

“Having Phil in the program is like having two head coaches,” Brantley Jr. said. “He puts in a ton of time breaking down film and he’s a great motivator.

“He stepped in for his first year and he had the kids’ respect from day one.”

Colton Young made the first team for SoHi at running back, return specialist and defensive back. He carried 58 times for 636 yards, and also had 157 yards on nine receptions.

“He’s electric,” Brantley Jr. said. “He’s a dangerous athlete and an exciting athlete. Everybody has to know where he is at.”

Jonathon Alexander was the final player from SoHi to make first-team two ways, making it as a tackle and interior lineman.

“He was new to the program,” Brantley Jr. said. “He came in and from day one the kids accepted him. He was just the physical force we needed on the defensive line, and he did a great job on the offensive line blocking.”

Other first-teamers for SoHi were tackle Daniel Rosin, guard Jarrett Urban, center Gavin Larson, kicker Cameron Grothe, outside linebacker Troy Streiff and utility player Reid Schmelzenbach.

Brantley Jr. said this was the most linemen the Stars have ever had on the medium-schools team. He said the line was young last year, but really matured for the Stars this year.

Brewer led the way for Kenai as a first-teamer at guard and interior lineman. Grayden Mendenhall also was first-team two ways — at fullback and inside linebacker.

Skyview got first-team nods for receiver Tyler Howell — who was the Peninsula’s leading receiver — and defensive back DJ Collier.

Homer’s lone first-teamer was outside linebacker Zack Fraley.

2012 Alaska Football Coaches Association

Medium-Schools All-State Team

Lineman of the Year — Duncan Brewer, Kenai Central.

Offensive Player of the Year — Noah Fowler, Soldotna.

Defensive Player of the Year — Zane Miller, Soldotna.

Coach of the Year — Cam Wyatt, Homer.

Assistant Coach of the Year — Phil Leck, Soldotna.

First-Team Offense

Quarterback — Noah Fowler, Soldotna.

Running Back — Waylon Soptick, Houston; Colton Young, Soldotna.

Fullback — Grayden Mendenhall, Kenai.

Wide Receiver — Tyler Howell, Skyview; Joe Ia, Thunder Mountain.

Tight End — Zane Miller, Soldotna.

Tackle — Jonathon Alexander, Soldotna; Daniel Rosin, Soldotna.

Guard — Duncan Brewer, Kenai; Jarrett Urban, Soldotna.

Center — Gavin Larson, Soldotna.

Long Snapper — Josh Tupou, Thunder Mountain.

Kicker — Cameron Grothe, Soldotna.

Return Specialist — Colton Young, Soldotna.

First-Team Defense

Outside Linebacker — Zack Fraley, Homer; Troy Streiff, Soldotna; Josh Tupou, Thunder Mountain.

Inside Linebacker — Grayden Mendenhall, Kenai; Zane Miller, Soldotna.

Defensive Backs — DJ Collier, Skyview; Noah Fowler, Soldotna; Colton Young, Soldotna.

Interior Lineman — Jonathan Alexander, Soldotna; Duncan Brewer, Kenai; Allen Reeder, Houston; Vili Tupou, Thunder Mountain.

Punter — Tyler Forto, Houston.

Utility Player — Reid Schmelzenbach.

Second-Team Offense

Quarterback — Mitchell Boord, Sitka.

Running Back — Connor Hicks, Ketchikan; John Jolly, Thunder Mountain.

Wide Receiver — Fredy Sorto, Kodiak; Chris Mack, Thunder Mountain.

Tackle — Elliott Anderson, Sitka.

Center — Austin Thomas, Thunder Mountain; Chatham Conner, Sitka.

Long Snapper — Brad Smithwick, Kenai.

Return Specialist — Mitchell Boord, Sitka.

Second-Team Defense

Outside Linebacker—Ben Jahn, Thunder Mountain.

Defensive Back — Mitchell Boord, Sitka; Chris Mack, Thunder Mountain.

Interior Lineman — DJ Tourtelot, Skyview; Alex Cagle, Sitka.


Sun, 06/24/2018 - 00:15

Oilers sputter in another loss to Chinooks

With the bats stuck in neutral, the Peninsula Oilers sputtered to another one-run loss Saturday night at Coral Seymour Memorial Park, dropping a 3-2 contest... Read more

Peninsula runners head north for Anchorage Mayor’s Marathon

Several Kenai Peninsula runners traveled north for the Anchorage Mayor’s Marathon and Half-Marathon on Saturday.

Read more