Hirsch and Jensen nab Seahawk victories

Homer freshman Barae Hirsch and Soldotna senior Dillon Jensen took individual victories at the Seahawk Invitational in Seward on Saturday. Jensen won the boys varsity race with a time of 15 minutes, 38 seconds, to beat Kenai’s Travis Cooper by 22 seconds, while Hirsch beat Kirsten Nyquist of Kenai by 12 seconds in the girls varsity with a winning time of 19:21.


In the girls race, Homer took three of the top six spots, with Hirsch’s win followed by Cassidy Soistman’s third place and Aspen Daigle’s sixth.

Kenai had four skiers in the top-eight, as runner-up Nyquist was followed by a fifth-place from Makaela Salzetti, a seventh from Lindsay Floyd and an eighth from Beverly Schindler.

Seward’s Lindsey Kromrey finished fourth in the girls race to finish as the top home-team skier, completing the course with a time of 20:12.

In the boys race, Kenai took five of the top nine spots, with Jordan Theisen’s fourth place, Fox Michaud’s sixth, Olen Danielson’s seventh and Joe Bressler’s ninth all following Cooper’s runner-up spot.

Kenai’s Kirsten Duran won the junior-varsity girls race with a time of 24:04, and James Butler of Kenai won the boys JV race in a time of 18:10.


Besh Cup #5 results

SoHi graduate Bree Mucha finished 11th on Saturday in the women’s five-kilometer interval start freestyle race at Birch Hill in Fairbanks, the fifth race in the Besh Cup series. Mucha, racing for Alaska Nordic Racing, was also the third-fastest Older Junior competitor with a time of 17:15, just 1:10 behind overall winner Lydia Blanchet of Alaska Pacific University.

SoHi skier Sadie Fox also finished 24th with a time of 18:36.

SoHi’s Luke Michael was the top Peninsula finisher in the men’s J1-and-older 10-kilometer race, racing to a time of 33:24, which was 6:28 behind the overall winner, Lex Treinen of UAF.


Seahawk Invite

Saturday individual varsity results

Girls — 1. Barae Hirsch, Hom, 19:21; 2. Kirsten Nyquist, Ken, 19:33; 3. Cassidy Soistman, Hom, 20:12; 4. Lindsey Kromrey, Sew, 20:12; 5. Makaela Salzetti, Ken, 20:13; 6. Aspen Daigle, Hom, 20:35; 7. Lindsay Floyd, Ken, 20:38; 8. Beverly Schindler, Ken, 21:12; 9. Taylor Gilmore, Sol, 21:37; 10. Dani McCormick, Sol, 22:08; 11. Madeline Michaud, Ken, 22:44; 12. Madison Nelson, Sol, 23:05; 13. Xochi Harbison, Sol, 23:20; 14. Olivia Hutchings, Sol, 23:43; 15. Lydia Arndt, Hom, 26:11; 16. Ali Dusek, Sol, 29:08; 17. Anna Marie Sayman, Sol, 31:29.

Boys — 1. Dillon Jensen, Sol, 15:38; 2. Travis Cooper, Ken, 16:00; 3. Brian Rowe, Hom, 16:05; 4. Jordan Theisen, Ken, 16:16; 5. Colton Diehl, Sol, 16:41; 6. Fox Michaud, Ken, 16:45; 7. Olen Danielson, Ken, 17:23; 8. Ghen Sasakura, Hom, 17:27; 9. Joe Bressler, Ken, 17:28; 10. Tanner Best, Sol, 17:29; 11. Joe Rife, Sol, 17:33; 12. Nate Mole, Ken, 17:45; 13. Jake Worsfold, Hom, 17:50; 14. Jong Kim, Sol, 18:02; 15. Jake Gilman, Ken, 18:26; 16. Miles Knotek, Sew, 18:55; 17. Sterling Stasak, Sky, 19:42; 18. Jerry Swanson, Sew, 19:53; 19. Jeremiah Hudson, Sky, 20:13; 20. Nick Zweifel, Sew, 20:18.


Sat, 05/26/2018 - 01:40

No. 7 seed Palmer wins Southcentral baseball title

In a wacky Southcentral Conference baseball tournament in Homer, one trend was solid — power gravitated to the north.

Read more
Sat, 05/26/2018 - 00:54

Ostrander qualifies for nationals in 3,000-meter steeplechase

Allie Ostrander, a 2015 graduate of Kenai Central, earned the right to defend her 3,000-meter steeplechase national title Friday at the NCAA West Preliminary Championships... Read more