All-State basketball teams released

The all-state basketball teams were released for print Monday. The teams were voted on by members of the Alaska Association of Basketball Coaches, headed by president David Porter, former head coach at Houston and Service high schools.


Soldotna’s Kaillee Skjold made the Class 4A girls second team.

In Class 1A boys, Ninilchik’s Jack Wheeler and Nikolaevsk’s Eric Mametieff were on the first team, Nikolaevsk’s Blake Klaich was on the second team, and Cook Inlet Academy’s Timmy Smithwick was on the third team.

In Class 1A girls, CIA’s Megan Bauder and Nicole Moffis were on the first team, Nikolaevsk’s Nianiella Dorvall was on the first team, Nikolaevsk’s Kilina Klaich was on the second team, Nikolaevsk’s Sophia Kalugin was on the third team, and CIA’s Madison Orth was on the third team.

Tilmo Painting/AABC 2013 All-State Basketball Team

Class 4A boys

Player of the Year – Adam Klie, Service

Coach of the Year – Josh Muehlenkamp, East

FIRST TEAM — Adam Klie, Service; Jarred Laws, East; Connor Looney, Palmer; Damon Cikanek, Dimond; Shaquan Rhoades, Eagle River.

SECOND TEAM — Marquise Robinson, Service; Dane Kuiper, Wasilla; Hunter Eisenhower, Colony; Iziah Sherman-Newsome, Bartlett; Damien Fulp, Colony.

THIRD TEAM — Louis Page, South; Amu Aukistino, Service; Theo Oghide, West; Sam Jahn, Thunder Mountain; Jack Hobbs, South.

Class 4A Girls

Player of the Year – Kyla Dinkel, Wasilla

Coach of the Year – Stephanie Smiley, Kodiak

FIRST TEAM — Kyla Dinkel, Wasilla; Alysha Devine, Wasilla; Alexis Imoe, Wasilla; Sierra Afoa, Dimond; Aminata Cole, Dimond.

SECOND TEAM — Mary Klapperich, Colony; Taylor Blake, Palmer; Kaillee Skjold, Soldotna; Jerica Nelson, Kodiak; Ruthy Hebard, Lathrop.

THIRD TEAM — Hannah Wandersee, Kodiak ; Gabi Fenumiai, Juneau-Douglas; Jayley Taylor, Ketchikan; Tara Thompson, Dimond; Chantel Bookert, West

Class 3A Boys

Player of the Year – Augustus Simmers, Anchorage Christian

Coach of the Year – Dave Cronk, Bethel

FIRST TEAM — Augustus Simmers, Anchorage Christian; Scooter Bynum, Monroe Catholic; Calvin Hoffman, Anchorage Christian; Jalen Terry, Anchorage Christian; Tyler Wells, Monroe Catholic.

SECOND TEAM — Daren Silas, Hutchison; Austin Miller, Bethel; Theodore Naneng, Bethel; Dominique Hall, Nome; David Stepovich, Monroe Catholic.

THIRD TEAM — Hans Karlberg, Grace Christian; Carlie Romer, Bethel; Tyler Eide, Nome; Brian Way, Sitka; Ryan Morgan, Mt. Edgecumbe.

Class 3A Girls

Player of the Year – Mimi Wood, Hutchison

Coach of the Year – Darrin Powers, Anchorage Christian

FIRST TEAM — Mimi Wood, Hutchison; Alex Derifield, Valdez; Dallas Dickerson, Anchorage Christian; Shayla Johnson, Nome; Hilary Lowery, Barrow.

SECOND TEAM — Sarah Gaegel, Anchorage Christian; NeNe Hale, Houston; Lynette Hepa, Barrow; Angela Miguel, Barrow; Colleen Snyder, Kotzebue.

THIRD TEAM — Sid Riggs, Sitka; Marian Wamsley, Valdez; Taryn White, Mt. Edgecumbe; Dana Chrestman, Barrow; Jess Reiter, Delta.

Class 2A Boys

Player of the Year – Kacy Green, Hooper Bay

Coach of the Year – Albert Green, Hooper Bay

FIRST TEAM — Kacy Green, Hooper Bay ; Stuart Towarak, Unalakleet; Brady Parmenter, Glennallen; JJ Fernandez, Unalaska; Kendell Alvarado, Dillingham.

SECOND TEAM — Colin Corsetti, Unalakleet; Brydin Pacheco, Bristol Bay; Cameron Peters, Glennallen; Dawson Matthews, Susitna Valley; David White, Tri-Valley.

THIRD TEAM — Cade Schlagel, Dillingham; Joe Simon, Hooper Bay; Kyan Monroe, Nenana; Everett Moorcroft, Bristol Bay; Tristen Ticket, Unalakleet.

Class 2A Girls

Player of the Year – Drew Carlos, Dillingham

Coach of the Year – Sean Carlos, Dillingham

FIRST TEAM — Drew Carlos, Dillingham; Chelsea Tooyak, Point Hope; Jonisha Wilson, Unalakleet; Brynn Tennison, Dillingham; Justene Henry, Selawik.

SECOND TEAM — Auna Stone, Hooper Bay; Amanda Sage, Point Hope; Maggie Dinon, Craig; Arianna Dougall, Glennallen; Kerri Tall, Chevak.

THIRD TEAM — Tierra Schroeder, Dillingham; Roberta Walker, Unalakleet; Mariah DelaRosa, Nenana; Catherine Ivanoff, Unalakleet; Jasmine Tooyak, Point Hope.

Class 1A Boys

Player of the Year – Danny Wells, Noorvik

Coach of the Year – Jim Holein, Klawock

FIRST TEAM — Danny Wells, Noorvik; Tyrus Morgan, Klawock; Anthony Ashby, Noatak; Jack Wheeler, Ninilchik; Eric Mametieff, Nikolaevsk.

SECOND TEAM — Hubba Jay Charlie, Scammon Bay; Blake Klaich, Nikolaevsk; Joe Kohler, New Stuyahok; Pat Moran, Lumen Christi; Michael Rud, Birchwood Christian.

THIRD TEAM — Billy Brown, Yakutat; Timmy Smithwick, Cook Inlet Academy; Joe Bifelt, Huslia; John Tretikoff, Newhalen ; Casey Sherman, Golovin.

Class 1A Girls

Player of the Year – Tonya Busse, Klawock

Coach of the Year – Susie Rilling, Shishmaref

FIRST TEAM — Tonya Busse, Klawock; Megan Bauder, Cook Inlet Academy; Nianiella Dorvall, Nikolaevsk; Nicole Moffis, Cook Inlet Academy; Cassi Williams, Klawock.

SECOND TEAM — Emma Weyiouanna, Shishmaref; Kilina Klaich, Nikolaevsk; Jessica Robertson, Lumen Christi; Alice Amaktoolik, Golovin; Helen Bruns, Brevig Mission.

THIRD TEAM — Sophia Kalugin, Nikolaevsk; Madison Orth, Cook Inlet Academy; Denise Fernandez, Shishmaref; Marina Koonooka, Gambell; Jazzlyn Garnie, Teller.


Thu, 09/21/2017 - 23:40

Tough course to greet Region III runners

In the land where mountains are often used as venues for running races, calling the Government Peak Recreation Area, site of Saturday’s Region III cross-country... Read more

Thu, 09/21/2017 - 23:40

Week 7 prep football preview: Playoff clinching scenarios

The stretch run of the prep football season will receive a serious dose of reality this weekend, and the consequences are dire for most teams.... Read more

Thu, 09/21/2017 - 23:40

Jackalopes cruise past Brown Bears

The Kenai River Brown Bears dropped to 0-2-0-0 with a 5-2 loss to the Odessa (Texas) Jackalopes on Thursday at the North American Hockey League... Read more