Cold forces postponements

Posted: Sunday, January 18, 2004

Cold weather caused the postponement of two high school sporting events this weekend. The Homer-Nikiski hockey game, scheduled for Saturday at Jason Peterson Memorial Ice Rink in Nikiski has been postponed, as has the Kenai Klassic, a cross-country skiing race that had been scheduled for Saturday on the ski trails at Kenai Golf Course.

In its place Homer ski coach Daryl Farrens organized an impromptu 5-kilometer, classic community race at McNeil Canyon in Homer, where temperatures were a balmy 10 degrees with sunny skies and no wind.

"We invited other schools from the peninsula, but it was pretty short notice," Farrens said.

Soldotna made it down for the race, and Farrens said Skyview wanted to come, but couldn't get its van started.

Meet organizers invited Homer's middle school team and organized the race into age groups. Farrens said opening the race up to the community added to the competition as there are some very good skiers in the Homer area.

"It provided a little more competition for the high school kids," Farrens said. "It was just a perfect day for skiing a good day for classic, anyway. The snow was fairly slow.

"It also gave the kids that came a little bit of a chance to preview the Besh Cup course for next week."

Next week's cross-country skiing schedule is pretty full. In addition to the Besh Cup races on Saturday and Sunday in Homer, the Kenai Klassic has been rescheduled for Saturday, with races starting at noon.

"It's the best skiing there's been in years," Kenai ski coach Dave Feeken said. "Just cover your face."

5-kilometer classic race

Saturday at McNeil Canyon, Homer


J-2 1. Erika Klaar, 29:15; 2. Alina Rykaczewski, 29:43; 3. Lauren Olendorf, 30:27; 4. Kristen Vantrease, 31:40; 5. Marin Lee, 45:37; 5. Thorey Munroe, 45:35.

J-1/OJ 1. Aleta Phelps, 23:33; 2. Katie Franzmann, 25:27; 3. Katie Pankoski, 27:45; 4. Tess Caswell, 29:01; 5. Heidi Keller, 29:10; 6. Brittany Osland, 29:25; 7. Jenny Smola, 30:14; 8. Monica Peters, 32:28; 9. Heather Sinclair, 32:29; 10. Ali Wykis, 33:14; 11. Casey Aderhold, 33:35; 12. Sara Arsenault, 33:36.


J-2 1. Max Milliron, 25:26; 2. Sean Twohy, 25:36; 3. Lucas Thein, 28:16; 4. Jacob Franzmann, 28:21; 5. Eddie French, 32:06; 6. Tad Martin, 32:20; 7. Peter Sheppard, 32:22; 8. Sam Caswell, 33:35; 9. Gus Beck, 33:48.

J-1/OJ 1. Morgan Jones, 23:17; 2. Travis Hines, 25:00; 3. Matthew Haberman, 27:05; 4. Caleb Chase, 27:12; 5. Jordan Oleson, 28:18.

Masters 1. Pete Alexson, 21:50; 2. Larry Martin, 23:56; 3. Doug Schwiesow, 25:00; 4. Jon Berryman, 25:55; 5. David Stutzer 26:33; 6. Ken Jones, 29:05; 7. Charlie Trowbridge, 39:55.

Subscribe to Peninsula Clarion

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved. | Contact Us