Sports Briefs

Posted: Sunday, January 21, 2007

Mucha stars in Besh Cup #3

The third part of the six-part Besh Cup series was held on Saturday at Tsalteshi Trails. The Besh Cup is used to select teams for Junior Nationals, but also provides skiers across the age spectrum with the opportunity to race.

The races were 1-kilometer classic sprints. Soldotna’s Kailey Mucha finished second in the girls Junior 2 races behind Amy Glen of Service High School. Other peninsula Junior 2 girls skiers were Homer’s Emma Teal Laukitis in 12th, Skyview’s Danielle Rehm in 23rd, Kenai’s Kristi Louthan in 24th and Soldotna’s Jasmine Clock in 25th.

Soldotna Elementary’s Addison Gibson won the Junior 6 girls race. In the girls Junior 3 race, Homer Middle’s Maggie Bursch was 10th, Soldotna Middle’s Bree Mucha was 13th, Homer’s India Bloom was 21st and Homer Middle’s Kaya Morelli was 22nd.

In the women’s Junior 1 and older race, senior skier Erin Hood took first place. From the peninsula, Homer’s Erika Klaar was 17th, Kenai Central’s Molly Watkins was 31st, Homer’s Claire Laukitis was 33rd and Kenai Central’s Becca Ford was 38th.

Andrew Dougherty of South High School in Anchorage won the Junior 2 boys race. From the peninsula, Kenai Central’s Anders Nyquist was 24th, Skyview’s Hunter Jackinsky was 26th and Soldotna Middle’s IntiMayo Harbison was 29th.

Patrick Johnson of Service won the Junior 1 and older race. From the peninsula, Kenai Central’s Christopher Hall was sixth, Kenai Central’s Trent Semmens was 18th, Skyview’s Erick Romig was 20th, Skyview’s Taylor Karnikis was 42nd, Soldotna’s Max Milliron was 46th, Skyview’s Tommy Honer was 56th, Homer’s Jens Klaar was 58th, Kenai Central’s Kirk Louthan was 68th, Skyview’s Johnny Cook was 75th, Homer’s Gus Beck was 77th and peninsula skiers Tiger Demers and Carter Garrett were 86th and 87th, respectively.

Besh Cup racing will continue at Tsalteshi today starting at 11 a.m.

Other peninsula skiers were competing in Seward on Saturday. Results from that meet were not available as the Clarion went to press.

Soldotna wins Round Robin Rumble

Soldotna won the seven-team Homer Round Robin Rumble on Saturday by scoring one more points than Kenai. The Stars had 114 points while Kenai had 113. Homer was fourth and Skyview was fifth.

The Stars received individual championships from Erick Morris at 152, David Japhet at 171, Mathew Strieby at 215 and Les Baker at 285. Winning for the Kardinals was Michael Dormady at 189.

Homer received victories from Den Daigle at 112, Robby Brymer at 130 and Simeon Daigle at 135. Skyview’s championship came from Monica Hutchison at 103.

Homer Round Robin Rumble


Team scores: 1. Soldotna, 114; 2. Kenai, 113; 3. Ketchikan, 96; 4. Homer, 94; 5. Skyview, 91; 6. Sitka, 61; 7. West, 16.

103 — 1. Monica Hutchison, Sky; 2. Quintun Pribbenow, Ken; 3. Bryce Wilson, Sky; 4. Met Pruit, Sol.

112 — 1. Ben Daigle, Hom; 2. Michaela Hutchison, Sky; 3. Nick Martin, Ket; 4. Joey Aho, Ken; 5. Levi Catlin, Hom.

119 — 1. Kyle Foote, Ket; 2. Alex Janorschke, Sky; 3. Alex Hediger, Hom; 4. John Hughes, Ken; 5. Chris Osbekoff, Ken; 6. Dan Maciarello, Sky; 7. Ian Poindexter, Sit; 8. Lilly Connor, Hom.

130 — 1. Robby Brymer, Hom; 2. Vince Licari, Sit; 3. Chet Ginther, Ket; 4. Jesse Carlson, Sol; 5. Freddie John, Ken; 6. Delbert Leavitt, Sol; 7. Arnold Dick, Sit.

135 — 1. Simeon Daigle, Hom; 2. Anthony Chavarria, Ket; 3. Luke Morse, Sky; 4. Seth Wunrow-Brushafer, Sit; 5. Cody Sanders, Sol; 6. Tanner Link, Sol; 7. Phillip Johnston, Ket; 8. Rhet Jackson, Sky.

140 — 1. Torin Lehmann, Sit; 2. Cody Booth, Ken; 3. Shane Hargus, Sit; 4. Steve Burlison, Sky; 5. Joey Karlson, Ket; 6. Zach Mayes, Hom; 7. Jared Thomas, Sky; 8. Lee Burkhart, Sit.

145 — 1. Max Rosefigura, Wes; 2. Tris Brymer, Hom; 3. Kamden Johnson, Sit; 4. Kraig Morris, Sol; 5. Devin Boyle, Ken; 6. Andrew Goodwin, Ket; 7. Justice Elson, Sol; 8. Freddie Pollard, Sky.

152 — 1. Erick Morris, Sol; 2. Justin Hensler, Ken; 3. Alex Rodgers, Sky; 4. Brandon Weaver, Hom; 5. Eric Weinfurter, Hom; 6. Jeremiah Berzanske, Sky; 7. Tyler Job, Sky; 8. Ryan John, Ket; 9. Blaine Scouller, Sit.

160 — 1. Nick Fama, Ket; 2. Zack Hinsberger, Hom; 3. Donny Dormady, Ken; 4. Wes Quade, Ken; 5. Jeremy Dooley, Sol; 6. Joe Mille, Sit; 7. Ryan Bates, Hom.

171 — 1. David Japhet, Sol; 2. Patrick Sheridan, Sky; 3. Kevin Krause, Ken; 4. Ty Smith, Ken; 5. Jesse Chumley, Sol; 6. Jarred Smith, Hom.

189 — 1. Michael Dormady, Ken; 2. Ethan Waters, Sol; 3. Kenny Mahan, Sky; 4. Finn Straley, Sit; 5. Nick Van Bruggen, Sky.

215 — 1. Mathew Strieby, Sol; 2. Bryce Timm, Ket; 3. Russ Bacon, Sky; 4. Halyn Lipps, Ken; 5. Michael Hope, Sit; 6. Doug Nelson, Ken.

285 — 1. Les Baker, Sol; 2. Mitchell Canavan, Ken; 3. Nathan Strieby, Sol; 4. Dustin Simpson, Ket; 5. Andrew Fahnolz, Ken.

Subscribe to Peninsula Clarion

Trending this week:


© 2017. All Rights Reserved. | Contact Us