Sports Briefs

Posted: Thursday, January 26, 2006

PeeWee B squad wins two

The Kenai Peninsula Hockey Association PeeWee B team won two games in Soldotna last weekend, defeating the Anchorage Bulldogs 2-1 and 4-1.

In the first game, Ice Hawks goalie William Granger made 12 saves to back up goals by Josh Kerkvliet and Tyler Cue. Sean Endsley and Zack Sonnichsen notched assists. In the second game, Endsley and Sonnichsen each scored a goal and Branden Fisher had two tallies. Matt Boulette, Fisher, Hunter Hollenberg and Zack Zulkanycz each had an assist while Morgan Cunningham recorded two assists. Keegan Remsen made six saves in goal for the Ice Hawks. The Ice Hawks are coached by Mike Boulette with assistance from Indy Walton and Todd Duwe.

Squirt Tier II team wins Polar Bear tourney

The Kenai Peninsula Hockey Association Squirt Tier II team won the title at the Polar Bear Tournament in Anchorage Jan. 13-16, hosted by the Alaska All-Stars.

The Ice Hawks opened the tournament with a 4-1 win over the Anchorage Bulldogs, then defeated the Southcentral Wolves 7-1 and tied the All-Stars 2-2.

In the cross-over game, the Ice Hawks posted a 5-4 shootout win over the North Stars to advance to the championship game, where they won their rematch with the All-Stars 3-1.

For the tournament, Jonas Perletti led the Ice Hawks with 10 goals. Jake Eubanks scored four goals, Trevor Wagoner and Adam VinZant each netted three goals and Hunter Lott potted a goal. Wagoner led the team with six assists. Goalies Nate O’Lena and Cody Harvey combined for 103 saves. O’Lena was 1-0-1 and Harvey was 3-0-0 for the competition.

Alaska Select players named

Several players from the Kenai Peninsula have been selected by the Alaska State Hockey Association to participate in the Pacific District Festival as part of the USA Hockey National Team development program.

Players were selected through tryouts in Anchorage last month and will travel to Mountain View Ice Arena in Vancouver, Wash., in April. The top players at that festival will have the opportunity to participate in a national festival or player development camps.

Tryouts were open to players born in 1989, 1990, 1991, and 1992. From players born in 1992, forward Bradley Duwe was selected while Eric Johnson was named an alternate at forward. Among players born in 1990, Defenseman Keegan Kiel was selected while Clayton Glick was named an alternate at forward. For players born in 1989, Jed McGlasson was selected at forward while defenseman Eli Waldrip was named an alternate.

Recreation awareness day slated for Homer

A week of disability awareness activities will conclude with a recreation awareness day Saturday from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. at Kenai Peninsula College’s Kachemak Bay Campus in Rooms 201-202. The event will include inspirational speakers, adaptive equipment and local recreation vendors.

Subscribe to Peninsula Clarion

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved. | Contact Us