Community Events

Posted: Monday, February 02, 2004

Food bank plans February activities

The following activities will be held at the Kenai Peninsula Food Bank:

Friday: This is Fred Meyer Day in the soup kitchen from 11:30 a.m. to 2:30 p.m. The Fred Meyer staff will prepare and serve lunch. Alaska Junior Miss contestants will provide entertainment and volunteer in the kitchen.

Friday: This is the deadline to register for CANstruction. Teams that compete will design sculptures out of canned and nonperishable food items. Sculptures will be judged and all food items will be donated to the food bank. Registration forms are available at the food bank or call 262-3111.

Feb. 12: There will be a Soldotna Community Schools tour through the food bank beginning at 11 a.m.

Feb. 20: This is Kenai Peninsula Borough Employee Day from 11:30 to 2:30 p.m. The employees of the borough will prepare and serve lunch.

For more information, call Linda Swarner at 262-3111.

Junior Miss pageant slated for Saturday

The Alaska Junior Miss pageant will begin at 7 p.m. Saturday at the Soldotna High School Auditorium. 2003 Alaska Junior Miss winner, Rachel Warbelow, and 2003 Spirit of Junior Miss winner, Jessica Baumer, will host the event.

The evening's program will include contestants being judged in areas of scholastic achievement, interview, fitness, poise and creative and preforming arts.

The winner will receive cash, tuition scholarships and an all-expense paid trip to Mobile, Ala., for the America's Junior Miss National Finals.

The young women participating in the 2004 Alaska's Junior Miss program are Desiree Aldridge from Soldotna, Ween Angulo from Fairbanks, Heather Apperson from Seward, Kiri Beckworth from Anchorage, Pamela Birdsall from Wasilla, LaDonna Coghill from Nenana, Lindsay Dudley from Soldotna, Brittany Gardner from Soldotna, Colleen Gould from Anchorage, Sonja Head from Nome, Katrina Johns from Nikiski, Heidi Keller from Soldotna, Caitlin Lamb from Anchorage, Maria Muzquiz from North Pole, Karina Petersen from Soldotna, Emily Phillips from Anchorage, Gloria Prince from Kotlik, Michelle Risse from Fairbanks, Jenny Rozak from Kasilof, Emma Schleiger from North Pole, Tiffany Smodey from Wasilla, Meghan Strang from Gakona and Kaitlin Vadla from Soldotna.

Local sponsors of Alaska's Junior Miss include BP Alaska Exploration, Wells Fargo Bank Alaska, Tesoro Alaska Company, Allan and Alfie Norville, the Rotary Club of Soldotna, Arby's, city of Kenai, city of Soldotna, IBEW Local No. 1547 Unit 101, Sweeney's Clothing, Peninsula internal Medicine, G & S Construction, The Fitness Place, GCI, Call of the Wild Cabins, First National Bank Alaska, William Marshall Dotson, DDS, Lakeview Gas Ltd., Soldotna Dental Clinic, Healthy Changes, Valley Dental Clinic, Dr. John Kobylarz, John and Jacquie Steckel, Twin Cities Veterinary Clinic and Columbus Distributing Company.

Ticket prices are $8 adults and $5 for students and seniors citizens. Tickets are available at the door.

For more information, call Teresa Gamble at 260-3819.

Today is deadline to apply for VFW scholarship

The deadline for the Veterans of Foreign Wars Ladies Auxiliary of the Jerry V. Horn Memorial Post No. 10046 Vicki Webb Nelson memorial scholarship is today.

High school graduating students with a desire to further their education are eligible. Citizenship, leadership and financial need will be considered. Monetary awards will be given to local winners with an opportunity to compete for the $1,000 scholarship awarded to a statewide winner.

Applications should be mailed to the VFW Ladies Auxiliary,134 N. Birch St., Soldotna, AK 99669. For more information or to obtain an application, call your school counselor, the VFW auxiliary chair at 262-1352 or auxiliary president at 262-2819.

Children's Monopoly tourney winners announced

The following children recently participated in the children's Monopoly tournament as part of the Peninsula Winter Games: Nathan Penrod, Preston Penrod, Chris Mahan, Travis Newberry, Dagen Walton, Trevor Steger, Tyler Peak, Ryan Hatt, Kealeen Martin, Jesse Chumley, Will Newberry, Casee Penrod, Candice Penrod and Adrianna Newberry.

The first round winners were Jesse Chumley, Will Newberry, Casee Penrod, Candice Penrod and Adrianna Newberry.

The top five winners progressed to the final round with the remaining children winning a Parker Brothers Monopoly game.

Adrianna Newberry, the grand prize winner, received approximately $500 worth of winter fun gear provided by Fred Meyer.

Jesse Chumley, second place, received a birthday party at the Aspen Hotel, provided by Aspen Hotel, an ice cream cake provided by Dairy Queen, and a Parker Brothers Monopoly game.

Will Newberry, Candice Penrod and Casee Penrod, each received a Hasbro Game.

Lunch was provided by McDonald's and Coca Cola provided drinks.

Subscribe to Peninsula Clarion

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved. | Contact Us