Most expensive and least expensive lawmakers in 2001

Posted: Monday, February 04, 2002

Here are the most expensive and least expensive members of the Alaska Legislature for 2001, according to a report by the Legislative Affairs Agency.

The total includes fixed amounts for salary and an office expense allowance. Lawmakers from outside Juneau are paid more in living expenses during the Legislature's annual session. Costs vary for travel, moving expenses and the optional pay lawmakers can claim for working on state business between sessions.

Most Expensive

1. Sen. Donny Olson, D-Nome, $87,891

2. House Majority Leader Jeannette James, R-North Pole, $86,093

3. Sen. Pete Kelly, R-Fairbanks, $85,730

4. Sen. John Torgerson, R-Kasilof, $82,237

5. Sen. Alan Austerman, R-Kodiak, $81,299

Least Expensive

1. Rep. Beth Kerttula, D-Juneau, $53,086

2. Rep. Andrew Halcro, R-Anchorage, $54,263

3. Rep. Bill Hudson, D-Juneau, $57,737

4. Rep. Beverly Masek, R-Willow, $58,008

5. Rep. Jim Whitaker, R-Fairbanks, $58,448

-- Former Sen. Drue Pearce, R-Anchorage, received $54,066 in pay and compensation before resigning in June to become an adviser to Interior Secretary Gale Norton.

-- Sen. Ben Stevens, R-Anchorage, received $15,919 after becoming her replacement.

Subscribe to Peninsula Clarion

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved. | Contact Us