Soldotna Elks honor outstanding students with scholarships

Posted: Wednesday, February 04, 2004

The Soldotna Elks Scholarship Committee has completed the Elks National Foundation Most Valuable Student judging for the Soldotna area, which includes Skyview High School and Soldotna High School.

The committee was extremely impressed with the 10 outstanding students (three boys and seven girls) who put forth applications. The committee will be forwarding one boy and three girls onto the state level which include the following students: Kaitlin Vadla, Johnny Mills, Karina Peterson and Jamie Gossman.

The Soldotna Elks Lodge also will be awarding our local students with the following scholarships: Kaitlin Vadla, $1,000; Johnny Mills, $1,000; Karina Peterson, $650; Travis Mercier, $650; Jamie Gossman, $450; Daniel Ghormley, $250; Candice Rysdyk, $250; Sarah Youngren, $250; Katina Lagontaris, $250; and Mellisa Fowler, $250.

We truly have outstanding students at both Skyview and Soldotna high schools. All 10 students are deserving of this recognition and have extremely bright futures. Congratulations to all of the above students!

Todd Syverson, scholarship chair, Soldotna Elks Lodge No. 2706

Subscribe to Peninsula Clarion

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved. | Contact Us