Kenai packs NLC awards

Posted: Friday, February 09, 2007

It’s only fitting that as the only team from the Kenai Peninsula to qualify for the Class 4A State Tournament, Kenai received the most North Star Conference awards.

Leading the pack was senior forward Owen Dukowitz, who was selected as the 2007 NSC MVP.

Seniors Jed McGlasson, Brad Fusaro and Justin Gabriel were named First-Team All-Conference while senior goalie Lauren Baldwin was named to the second-team.

The Kardinals’ Taylor Brewer was selected to the Good Sport Team while McGlasson was also crowned the speed skating champion during the skills competition that took place during the conference tournament.

Soldotna also had its fair share of winners.

Junior Clayton Glick and senior Jake Bishop each took home first-team honors while senior goaltender Micah Perletti and junior forward Ben Christianson were named to the second team. The Stars’ Whitney Ischi earned a spot on the Good Sport Team and Christianson was crowned the showdown champion at the conference tourney.

Homer’s Josh Pitta was named to the first team, sophomore David Buckley made the honorable-mention squad and goalie Ben Miller was selected to the Good Sport Team.

Subscribe to Peninsula Clarion

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved. | Contact Us