Many contribute to evening set aside to honor those who serve

Posted: Wednesday, February 18, 2004

The 45th Annual Soldotna Chamber of Commerce Awards Banquet was truly a successful event enjoyed by many in the community. Thanks to everyone who attended this special evening held on behalf of our award recipients.

It is truly heartwarming to honor all those who contribute to the success of a community.

We hold this evening to honor you and say "thank you" for what you bring to our community:

Volunteer of the Year The Alaska Young Marines;

Devoted Service to Youth Gary and Sharon Hale;

Excellence in Profession Tom Hodel of Soldotna Pharmacy;

Pioneer Award Spence De Vito;

Honorary Lifetime Membership Steve and Jeanie Booth;

Business of the Year Stenga Bros.; and

Person of the Year Dena Cunningham.

We would also like to thank everybody that made the evening such a success: Emcee Merrill Sikorski; the committee of volunteers Sammie Cole, Shanon Hamrick, Carol Dawson, Iris Carrico, Barb Blakeley, Aud Walaszek, Jay Barrett, Robin Sullens and Cassie Pulley (it was beautiful); all of the award presenters Norm Blakeley, Dena Cunningham, Jim Stogsdill, Tim Pope, Pete Sprague, Dan Mortenson and Theresa Colton; Isabelle's Fine Catering; Snug Harbor Seafoods; Lynden Transport; Sammie Cole, chair; Janet St. Clair, Angela Hinnegan, Barbara Olson, Billy Hardy and Betty Obendorf, for serving on our Scholarship Committee; the Soldotna Chamber Awards Committee which consisted of Sammie Cole, Dena Cunningham, Theresa Colton and Dan Mortenson; and Paul Gray for all his hard work on the great musical tribute to 2003 and all his contributors.

On behalf of the Soldotna Chamber of Commerce board and staff, our thanks to everyone who helped make this year's awards banquet a memorable occasion.

Michelle Glaves, Executive director Soldotna Chamber of Commerce

Subscribe to Peninsula Clarion

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved. | Contact Us