Murkowski names seven to Board of Education

Posted: Sunday, February 23, 2003

JUNEAU (AP) -- Gov. Frank Murkowski named seven members to the state's school board Friday, including retiring Education Commissioner Shirley Holloway.

In doing so, he replaced all voting members of the Board of Education and Early Development. The board also has a student and a military member who don't vote.

The other new members are Esther Cox of Anchorage, Patsy DeWitt of Juneau, Richard Mauer of Delta Junction, Sylvia Reynolds of Soldotna, Rex Rock of Point Hope and Tim Scott of Anchorage.

The board will appoint a new commissioner, subject to approval of the governor.

Murkowski announced Thursday that Holloway, who was education commissioner under former Gov. Tony Knowles, is retiring from that job March 3 after 40 years of work as an educator.

Cox is a former principal at Romig Junior High School and the King Career Center with the Anchorage School District.

DeWitt has served as PTO president for the Juneau School District and has received awards for her volunteer work in schools.

Mauer is education services officer with the Army and has been a board member on the Delta-Greely School Board for 12 years.

Reynolds is principal of K-Beach Elementary School in Soldotna and was formerly principal of Soldotna High School.

Rock is president and CEO of the Tikigaq Corp. and vice chairman for the Arctic Slope Regional Corp. board.

Scott is chief administrator for the Family Partnership Charter School.

Subscribe to Peninsula Clarion

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved. | Contact Us