Open seats draw HEA candidates

Posted: Wednesday, March 10, 2004

Three open seats on the Homer Electric Association board of directors have drawn five candidates in this year's cooperative election.

Voting packets will be mailed to approximately 19,000 HEA members in early April. The mail-in ballots must be returned to the Homer HEA office no later than 5 p.m. May 4.

Members also will be able to vote at the cooperative's annual meeting scheduled at 7 p.m. May 5 at the Renee C. Henderson Auditorium at Kenai Central High School.

Results will be announced at the meeting.

Filing for election to the open seat from District One, which encompasses the Kenai-Nikiski area, are incumbent Mike Nugent of Kenai and former HEA board member Ron Rainey of Kenai.

Nugent, currently Cook Inlet Area manager for Peak Oilfield Service Co., was appointed to replace Fred Braun in October 2003 after Braun resigned last August.

Rainey, a former president of the HEA board, spent nine years on the panel before losing to Bruce Passe in 2003.

Incumbent Deborah Debnam, a business consultant from Sterling and the board's current secretary-treasurer, will face Pat Cowan, a business owner from Soldotna, in the contest for the seat from District Two, which includes the Sterling-Soldotna area. Cowan was appointed in December 2000 to replace former state legislator Ken Lancaster when he resigned to go to Juneau. Cowan ran in May 2001 and lost to Debnam.

Current office-holder Snooks Moore, a fisher and boatyard owner from Homer, is the only candidate running for the race for the open District Three seat, representing the southern Kenai Peninsula.

There are nine board members in all, three from each district. Board members are elected to three-year terms.

Correction: Due to a reporting error, this story contains incorrect information. Mike Nugent of Kenai is the former plant manager of Agrium. The Clarion regrets the error.

Subscribe to Peninsula Clarion

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved. | Contact Us