Three No. 1 men's seeds same as 2000's tourney

March Madness is officially here

Posted: Monday, March 12, 2001

INDIANAPOLIS -- Stanford, Duke and defending champion Michigan State took the top spots for the NCAA tournament for the second straight year, joining Illinois.

The first-ever 65-team field starts play Tuesday night in Dayton, Ohio, with Northwestern State facing Winthrop in the opening-round game. The winner between the two lowest-ranked teams plays Illinois (24-7) in the Midwest's first round in Dayton on Friday.

Stanford (28-2), the unanimous No. 1 team in the AP poll for the last two weeks, is the top seed in the West, while Duke (29-4) plays in the East and Michigan State (24-4) is in the South.

The Spartans, a No. 1 seed for the third straight year, begin defense of their title Friday in Memphis, Tenn., against No. 16 Alabama State.

''We're excited to say the least,'' Michigan State coach Tom Izzo said. ''I didn't know where we would end up. To have three straight NCAA seeds is something our program can be proud of. Going to the South is fine with me.''

The No. 2 seeds are Kentucky, North Carolina, Arizona and Iowa State, while the No. 3s are Boston College, Florida, Mississippi and Maryland. UCLA, Oklahoma, Kansas and Indiana were selected as No. 4 seeds.

The Tar Heels, who struggled toward the end of the regular season and lost 79-53 to Duke in the Atlantic Coast Conference title game on Sunday, had started the week as one of the favorites for a No. 1 seed.

The top six conferences dominated the field, receiving 29 of the 34 at-large berths. The Big Ten's seven teams matched the record for the most in the tournament.

Five schools -- Alabama State, Cal State-Northridge, Hampton, Northwestern State and Southern Utah -- are making their first NCAA tournament appearances. Holy Cross, which hasn't been in the field since 1983, ended the longest drought.

North Carolina extended its own record with a 27th consecutive appearance, while Arizona (17), Indiana (16), UCLA (13), Kansas (12), Temple (12), Cincinnati (10) and Kentucky (10) have the next longest current streaks.

Duke, a top seed for the fourth straight year, plays Thursday in Greensboro, N.C., against No. 16 Monmouth. The other games in that East subregional are: No. 5 Ohio State vs. No. 12 Utah State; No. 4 UCLA vs. No. 13 Hofstra; and No. 9 Missouri vs. No. 8 Georgia, which enters with the most losses ever by an at-large team.

The Bulldogs became the fifth team to be chosen as an at-large team with 14 losses. They are the 11th team to be picked as an at-large with just 16 wins. The selection also tied a coaching record. Jim Harrick of Georgia and Lefty Driesell of Georgia State joined Eddie Sutton as men who have taken four schools to the tournament.

Harrick also took UCLA, winning the title in 1995, Rhode Island and Pepper-dine to the tournament, while Driesell also led Maryland, Davidson and James Madison.Sutton, in the field again with Oklahoma State, also took Creighton, Kentucky and Arkansas.

Oklahoma State (20-9) was a sentimental choice for many fans. The Cowboys had to play the final month of the season after the plane crash that killed 10 people, including two players.

With Louisville failing to make the field in Denny Crum's final season, Arizona's Lute Olson takes over as the active coach with the most appearances at 23. Olson's run of 17 in a row is also the longest current streak, with Temple's John Chaney and Kansas' Roy Williams second, each at 12. The longest current streak to end was Gene Keady of Purdue, who had been in the last eight tournaments.

Subscribe to Peninsula Clarion

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved. | Contact Us