Four elected to Doyon board

Posted: Sunday, March 16, 2003

FAIRBANKS (AP) -- Four members have won election to the board of the Doyon Ltd. Native corporation.

The corporation held its annual meeting Friday and chose Ethan Schutt, Mike Irwin, Robert Brean and Florence Carroll for the board.

Doyon President Orie Williams reported that the corporation recorded its 18th consecutive profitable year in 2002. But he said the declining stock market hurt the results.

''Despite losses in our investment portfolio, the Doyon family of companies was able to generate a profit of $4.3 million on a revenue of $45.4 million. We were also able to pay a dividend of $3.45 a share.''

Bernice Joseph, dean of the University of Alaska Fairbanks' College of Rural Alaska, and Christopher Simon, superintendent of the Yukon-Koyukuk School District, were named shareholders of the year. Kenny Thomas of Tanacross, Joe Beetus of Hughes and Eddie Hildebrand of Nulato were honored as elders of the year.

Subscribe to Peninsula Clarion

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved. | Contact Us