Valdez boys top Barrow in thriller

Posted: Sunday, March 21, 2004

After losing in the championhip game last year, the Valdez boys came back to claim their second title in three years by defeating Barrow 70-65 in overtime in the Class 3A state tournament Saturday at the Sullivan Arena in Anchorage.

Carl Arts had 23 points for Valdez, while Mark Banner added 21. For Barrow, Dominick Lozano had 20 points and Fritz Frier added 11.

Heritage 59, Metlakatla 47

Rusty Gutierrez had 17 points and Gabe Miessner had 14 as the Eagles took home third place. Chris Bryant had 15 points for the Braves.

Mt. Edgecumbe 63, Nome 36

George Beans had 19 points and Matt Mercier added 12 as the Braves wrapped up fourth place. Matt Blandford had 17 points for Nome.

Class 4A

Lathrop 77, East 63

Willie Blackburn had 16 points, Michael Titus had 15, Matt Fisher had 13 and Derrick Hall had 11 as the Malemutes took third place.

For East, Derek Laws had 17 points, Hal LaPointe had 15 points and Cory Macon had 10 points.

Palmer 46, Wasilla 37

The Moose took fourth place behind 24 points from Stanley Ratcliff and 10 points from Jesse Prins. Matt Crane had 16 points for Wasilla, while David Williams added 10.


Class 4A

West 68, Lathrop 59

The Eagles received 19 points from Ramon Harris to advance to the championship game. Josh Lohrenz had 18 points for Lathrop, while Willie Blackburn added 14 points and Matt Fisher had 10 points.

Bartlett 56, East 52

Doug Hardy and Mario Chalmers combined to scored all but 10 of Bartlett's points as the Golden Bears moved into the championship game. Hardy had 25 points, while Chalmers had 21.

For East, LeRaun Robinson had 15 points, Derek Laws had 12 points and Dennis Wilson added 11 points.

Wasilla 41, Kodiak 33

In a defensive battle, Robbie Champion paced the Warriors with nine points and Wasilla moved into the fourth-place game. Erich Simpson and Ryan Norton each had nine points for Kodiak.

Palmer 70, Ketchikan 52

Stanley Ratcliff had 26 points, Jesse Prins had 14 and Kurtis Devon had 11 to lead the Moose into the fourth-place game. Tyler Richardson had 19 for Ketchikan, while Nate Norton had 10.

Class 3A

Barrow 53, Heritage Christian 49

Harley Danner had 19 points and Dominick Lozano added 16 as the Whalers advanced to the championship game by beating District 3 champion Heritage.

Gabe Miessner had 18 points for the Eagles.

Valdez 82, Metlakatla 69

The Buccaneers advanced to the title game behind 25 points from Carl Arts, 25 points from Mark Banner and 11 points from David Tamura.

Chris Bryant had 36 for the Chiefs, while Beau Hayward added 17.

Mt. Edgecumbe 71, Eielson 55

Josh Thomas had 24 points and Matt Mercier added 19 as the Braves made it to the fourth-place game. Evan Skinner had 24 points for the Ravens, while William Winkler added 19.

Nome 65, Anchorage Christian 60

Matt Blandford had 22 points, Ian Alvanna-Stimpfle had 12, Travis Weiss had 11 and Wayne Alvis had 11 as the Nanooks reached the fourth-place game. For ACS, Zack Madren had 17, Hunter Hegge had 15, Alex Hawkins had 14 and Chet Dyson had 13.

Subscribe to Peninsula Clarion

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved. | Contact Us