Redoubt Elementary

Posted: Wednesday, March 31, 2004

Kindergarten registration will take place from 9 a.m. to 2 p.m. today through Friday. This registration is for children who will be 5 years old by Aug. 15 and will begin kindergarten this fall.

The fourth-, fifth- and sixth-graders will present their spring musical "At the Hop" at 6 p.m. Thursday at the Soldotna High School Auditorium. The concert will feature songs and dances from the '50s and '60s. Admission is free.

Nurse Donna should be notified if students have a milk allergy. Juice will be provided for those students.

Yearbook order forms will be sent home this week. Yearbooks will arrive in May.

The final collection for school pictures is Friday. Classes returning 100 percent will receive ice cream courtesy of Lifetouch Photography.

Project Reward students were recognized with a movie and popcorn last Thursday. Kyler Clyburn, Bryan Dombovy, Britt Wilson and Collin Morgan won $100 savings bonds in the Project Reward drawing. The staff thanks the parents who helped with this activity: Mrs. Dimick, Mrs. Thompson, Mrs. VanAntwerp, Mrs. Bass, Mrs. Rohloff, Mrs. Gallagher, Mr. Fox, Mrs. Hills, Mrs. McDowell, Mr. Holmgaard, and Mr. and Mrs. Bicknell. Thanks also to Mrs. Hale for popping 16 pounds of popcorn and to Soldotna Safeway for sponsoring Project Reward.

Whitney Burcham, Delainey Bowman and Kayla Hanson won a prize in the hospital poster contest.

Mindi West won the recycling contest with her guess of 252 pounds. It was close to the actual 225 pounds of paper recycled.

Mindi also correctly guessed Mr. Gossard and Alex Wilson correctly guessed Nurse Donna in the Guess the Teacher contest. Four new clues are up on the bulletin board.

The school was well represented at the borough forensics meet March 13. Thanks to all the students who participated. First place winners were Deann Knight, Neeta Denison, Hannah Romberg, Emily Rohloff, Gage Harvey and Emily Smola; second place winners were Evan Withrow, Danielle Bilstad, Hailey Oglesbee and Mariah Henson; and third place winners were Kristen Nagle, Mitchell Thompson, Travis Newberry, Josh Arbach, Neil Gallagher, Xavier Allmon and Silas Rodriguez.

A special PTA meeting will be held from 6 to 7:30 p.m. April 13. PTA officers and activities for the 2004-05 school year will be discussed. All Redoubt parents are invited and encouraged to attend.

Two teams qualified for the Future Problem Solving State Bowl to be held April 19 and 20. Team 1 members are Hannah Romberg, Blaine Carver, Lauren Rigby and Brett Vadla. Team 2 members are Mark Youngren, Travis Newberry, Stryker McLane and Josh Arbach.

Subscribe to Peninsula Clarion

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved. | Contact Us