KPHA Mite C Ice Hawks notch championship

Posted: Tuesday, April 02, 2002

The Kenai Peninsula Hockey Association's Mite C Ice Hawks won a state championship Sunday, defeating Fairbanks 2-1 in Anchorage in the Mite Tier III state tournament.

The Ice Hawks celebrated by dousing coach Mike Boulette with the water cooler.

"We asked these kids to give 115 percent, and they did. Everyone stepped up," Boulette said of his team. " We've been talking all season about putting all the pieces together. With this victory, the puzzle is complete."

Against Fairbanks, the Ice Hawks put 16 shots on goal in the first period. Zack Sonnichsen scored the first goal of the game for the Ice Hawks, assisted by linemates Daniel Roberts and Matt Boulette.

Josh Kerkvliet scored a second-period goal for the Ice Hawks, banking a backhand shot off the Fairbanks goaltenders' pads and into the net.

Ice Hawks goalie William Granger faced nine shots in recording the win.

In the tournament opener Thursday, the Ice Hawks tied Fairbanks 3-3. The KPHA squad went on to beat the Polar Ice, the Anchorage Penguins and the Anchorage Boys and Girls Club to advance to the semifinals.

The Ice Hawks downed the Anchorage Mighty Moose 5-1 to advance to the championship game, where they handed Fairbanks its first loss of the season.

The Ice Hawks players include Granger, Sean Endsley, Matt Fellman, Daniel Roberts, Zack Weisz, Zachary Zulkanycz, Michael Gabriel, Kerkvliet, Morgan Cunningham, Dagen Walton, Boulette, Sonnichsen, Connor Hamman, Nick Pokryfki and Jacob Iverson.

Mike Boulette is assisted by Indy Walton and Tim Iverson. Phillippa Sonnichsen serves as team manager.

Subscribe to Peninsula Clarion

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved. | Contact Us