Ketchikan to vote on recalling most school board members

Posted: Friday, April 06, 2001

KETCHIKAN (AP) -- Petitions to recall five of Ketchikan's School Board members have been certified by Ketchikan Gateway Borough Clerk Susan Bethel. A special recall election must be scheduled by the assembly sometime between May 24 and June 23, Bethel said.

Sponsors of the petitions seek to recall Hannah Ramiskey, Sue Pickrell, Dorothy Smestad, Bill Pfeifer and Al Johnson.

Signatures on each petition were counted until the required 686 were reached, the clerk said. Sponsors gathered the signatures in less than two weeks.

The recall came after school board members directed the administration to begin reorganizing the district to group students in schools by grade rather than geographically.

The proposition on the recall ballot will allege that the board members violated the state's Open Meetings Law by voting on the restructuring issue without prior public notice.

If the recall of all five is successful, Choc Schafer and Earlene Brown, both elected in October, would be the only remaining board members. After a recall election, remaining members would appoint new members to fill any vacancies until the next election, according to state statutes.

Subscribe to Peninsula Clarion

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved. | Contact Us