Soldotna holds Hoop Fest

Posted: Sunday, April 10, 2011

Six middle school teams competed in a round-robin format at the 3-on-3 2011 Peninsula Hoop Fest at Soldotna High School on Saturday.

The Power Hounds team of Nathan Spence, Brooks Furlong, Ian Beaudoin and Hunter Phillips won the championship. Jonah Theisen, Ryley McKatee, Nate Saavedra and Ellery Stephenson, of the Kenai Ballers, placed second.

The inaugural tournament was a fundraiser for the SoHi baseball team, but coordinator Roger Phillips said the turnout was lower than expected. Four teams tried to register after the deadline, Phillips said.

"It was surprising there weren't a few more team," Phillips said. "Maybe we picked the wrong weekend."

Despite the low turnout, Rogers said the event will return next year and those who participated had a positive experience.

About 65 spectators filled the SoHi gym to watch the action, he added.

"Every team that signed up was ecstatic about it," Phillips said, adding the event raised about $260.

The Three Stooges team -- Zach Hallford, Trevor Walden, Sage Hill and Drew Gibbs -- went undefeated in round-robin play and lost its first semifinals game.

The Lady Spartans -- Haley Miller, Lindsey Wong, Elizabeth Cho and Kelsey Jackson -- were the lone girls team, losing by an average of two points per game.

Subscribe to Peninsula Clarion

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved. | Contact Us