FEMA disaster assistance expanded to include more Alaska communities

Posted: Thursday, April 13, 2000

ANCHORAGE (AP) -- More Alaska communities affected by severe winter storms and avalanches have joined the list of those that are eligible for federal disaster assistance, state and federal agencies announced Wednesday.

Communities added last week for disaster relief include the boroughs of Aleutians East, Bristol Bay, Denali, Fairbanks North Star, Kodiak Island and Lake and Peninsula, according to a joint news release from the Alaska Division of Emergency Services, Federal Emergency Management Agency and U.S. Small Business Administration. Also added were the census areas of Bethel, Dillingham, Southeast Fairbanks and Wade Hampton on the lower Yukon.

Those areas join the Municipality of Anchorage, Valdez, Cordova, Kenai Peninsula Borough and the Matanuska-Susitna Borough, which became eligible for assistance when President Clinton declared a federal disaster in February.

Subscribe to Peninsula Clarion

Trending this week:


© 2017. All Rights Reserved. | Contact Us