KPHA Ice Hawks take state Bantam D tourney

Posted: Thursday, April 13, 2000

The Kenai Peninsula Hockey Association Ice Hawks defeated the Homer Glacier Kings 4-3 Sunday to win the state Bantam D hockey tournament at the Soldotna Sports Center.

The tournament, which was for 13- and 14-year-olds, also included the Nikiski Ice Dawgs, the Anchorage Boys and Girls Club/East Stars and the Mat-Su Eagles.

Homer and KPHA advanced to the championship game by going 3-0-1 in round-robin play.

In the championship game, Homer and KPHA were tied until the last 13 seconds, when Robert Luton netted the game winner. It was Lutons second tally of the game.

The Ice Hawks also received goals from Shane Turnbull and Matthew Habermann. They picked up assists from Jacob Shapley, Brandon Sachwitz, Travis Mercier and Habermann.

Slipping the puck into the net for Homer were Anton Matveev, Max Drathman and Brady Boone. Boone and Wes Busby notched assists.

Other members of the first-place Ice Hawks were Daniel Ghormley, Daryl Sachwitz, Bryan Danna, Eric Robert-Vinzant, Dag Moran-Tacey, David Quartly, Christopher Mussman and Christopher Bouwens.

The team is coached by JD Backhaus, Todd Duwe and Paul Quartly. The manager is Shelly Sachwitz.

Other members of the Glacier Kings are Onicifor Basargin, Eric Szymoniak, Jake Gerogotelis, Levi Goldsby, Alex Trieweiler, Scott Owen, Taber Webb, Bryan Smith, Ivan Bucher, Terry Shroyer and Garrette Myers.

Homer is coached by Brett Haus, Wes Bucher and Chuck Rockett and managed by June Trieweiler.

The Nikiski Ice Dawgs, who were eliminated in the round-robin portion of the tournament, were made up of Israel Blatchford, Chris Parrish, Jabin Flensburg, Zack Womack, Ryan Cowie, Reece Parrish, Brett Allemann, Nick Russell, Stephen Noble, Ryan Dukowitz, Paul Kendall, Michael OBrien, Gruff Flynn, Estin Borchgrevink, Billy Anderson, Reuben Floyd, Brad Harrison, Josh Pepper and Josh Winters.

Mike Alvey coached the Ice Dawgs, while Bill Parrish managed them.

Subscribe to Peninsula Clarion

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved. | Contact Us