Kenai, Homer papers win press club awards

Posted: Thursday, April 20, 2000

A joint project that included the Peninsula Clarion and two other Morris Communications Corp. newspapers in Alaska was awarded first place in comprehensive coverage from the Alaska Press Club.

Honored for their work on the special section, ''Between Worlds: The Alaska Native Claims Settlement Act,'' were Doug Loshbaugh and Jon Holland of the Peninsula Clarion; Cathy Brown, Svend Holst and Lori Thomson of the Juneau Empire; and Tim Bradner of the Alaska Journal of Commerce.

The Peninsula Clarion also received recognition for other work during the press club's annual banquet in Anchorage April 15, including:

n Clarion sports editor Jeff Helminiak received a first place award in headline writing. Managing Editor Mark Kelsey received a third place award in that category.

n Reporter Doug Loshbaugh won a second place award for feature writing for his story ''Driftnetter favors life at sea.''

n Reporter Shana Loshbaugh won a third place in the general news category for her story ''Homeless for the holidays.''

n Sunday columnist A.E. Poynor won a third place in the humor category for his "Countdown to Y2K." The humor category is open to all media.

n Executive Editor Lori Evans won a second place award in editorial writing, while Kelsey won a third place award in that category.

The Homer News, another Morris Communication publication, tied with the Anchorage Press for the "Best Weekly Newspaper" honor. The Homer News also was awarded several other prizes in the non-daily newspaper competition, including:

Best breaking story: Hal Spence, first place;

Best general news story: Hal Spence, first place;

Best use of story and photos; Chris Russ; first place;

Best comprehensive coverage or series: Hal Spence, Chris Russ and J. Michael Lyons, honorable mention;

Best reporting on business/economic/consumer news: J. Michael Lyons, first place;

Best editorial writing: Mark Turner, first place;

Best coverage of the arts: Tim Moffatt, first place; Chris Russ, third place;

Best picture story: Hal Spence, first place;

Best sports photo: Chris Russ, first place;

Best feature story: Joel Gay, second place;

Best reporting on education: Carey Restino, second place;

Best reporting on crime or courts: Hal Spence, second place;

Best reporting on health or science: Hal Spence, second place; Carey Restino, honorable mention;

Best page layout: Joel Gay, Mark Turner, Susan Kaplan, Chris Szymoniak, Christine Hurrell and Michael Armstrong for the Homer News' front page, Sept. 2, 1999;

Best reporting on government or a political issue: Hal Spence, third place;

Best headline writing: Joel Gay and Mark Turner, third place;

Best scenic photo: Carey Restino, honorable mention.

In other media, Peninsula Public Radio News Director David Webster garnered six press club awards, including a first place for health-science reporting, a first and second place for reporting on the environment; a first for coverage of the arts; a second for profile writing; and a third for reporting on education.

Subscribe to Peninsula Clarion

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved. | Contact Us