Education Department announces commissioner applicants

Posted: Thursday, April 24, 2003

ANCHORAGE (AP) Three educators have applied to be commissioner of the state Department of Education and Early Development.

The three are Betty Conklin, a principal from Indianapolis; H. Fred Pomeroy, a longtime New Mexico and Alaska school superintendent; and Roger Sampson, a longtime Alaska educator who served as superintendent of the Chugach School District.

The deadline for submitting applications was Friday. The state Board of Education is authorized by statute to appoint a commissioner. Also by statute, the governor must approve the board's appointment.

The commissioner does not need to be confirmed by the Legislature, said department spokesman Harry Gamble.

Conklin since 1990 has been principal of William A. Bell School in Indianapolis. She began her career as a teacher in 1970.

Pomeroy was superintendent of the Kenai Peninsula Borough School District from 1979 to 1989. Between 1989 and 1998, he was superintendent of Los Lunas Schools, Roswell Independent School District and Tucumcari Municipal School District in New Mexico. From 1998 to 2001, Pomeroy was executive director of the New Mexico Coalition of School Administrators.

Sampson worked as superintendent of Chugach School District from 1994-2000. He was a principal from 1984 to 1994 in the Kenai Peninsula Borough School District, and from 1979 to 1984 he was a principal, special education director and federal programs director for Annette Island School District in Metlakatla.

The state board will screen applications and select finalists during a teleconference Tuesday, then interview finalists May 9 in Juneau.

Subscribe to Peninsula Clarion

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved. | Contact Us