Many come together for sake of Youth Court

Posted: Friday, April 25, 2008

On the eve of Feb. 28, a very special gathering took place in Kenai's Old Courthouse building. The Kenai Peninsula Youth Court (KPYC) performed its 11th annual Swearing In Ceremony.

The KPYC Board of Directors would like to recognize and thank some special people who made this possible: Superior Court Judge Anna Moran, Superior Court Judge Carl Bauman, District Court Judge Jennifer Wells, Magistrate-Master Jerry Anderson and Magistrate-Master Matthew Christian for assisting with the swearing-in ceremony and for personally acknowledging each of 14 newly sworn-in young attorneys and judges.

Congratulations to the newly sworn-in attorneys and judges. These kids took center stage for their commitment to complete the required 12-week training course and to pass the youth court bar exam. They have proven their competency and are prepared to handle real life cases involving their peers.

The parents of these teens deserve praise for raising "real leaders" of tomorrow. Your encouragement and support of your children to understand law, why laws are in place and the consequences of breaking these laws is commendable.

A special thanks goes to the six KPYC senior attorneys and judges who organized and conducted the evening's event. Many of these teens have been members of the Youth Court for five years.

Thank you, Kenai Safeway for donating the sheet cake that was enjoyed by all during the reception in the courthouse foyer.

And lastly, the board of directors wishes to express our deep appreciation to Ginny Espenshade, the executive director of the KPYC. Your experience and expert knowledge of the legal world, your gentle mannerism and compassion for all kids and your everlasting display of optimism have carried this program into its 12th year on the peninsula. As board members, we are proud to work with you and be part of a program that has such a positive effect on kids.

Karen Rogers


Sue Seggerman

Vice President

Karen Ruebsamen


John Lucking

LeRoy Heinrich

Kim Wannamaker

Shirley Gifford

Board members

Subscribe to Peninsula Clarion

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved. | Contact Us