Press club recognizes Clarion staff

Posted: Thursday, April 26, 2001

The Peninsula Clarion has received 10 awards, including four first-place honors, from the Alaska Press Club. The awards were presented Saturday during the group's annual banquet in Anchorage.

The annual press club event recognizes the work of print, radio and television journalists from all over the state.

Recognized for their work at the Clarion in the daily newspaper category:

Jeff Helminiak and Will Morrow tied for first place for best sports columns.

M. Scott Moon received the first-place award in sports photos for his "Mount Marathon Slide" photo.

Moon also received a second-place award in the scenic photo category for his "Foggy Morning Caribou" shot.

Executive editor Lori Evans received a first-place award for editorial writing.

Doug Loshbaugh received a third-place award in column writing.

He also received an honorable mention in the general news category.

A. E. Poynor, who writes the Sunday column "Of Moose and Men," received a third-place award in humor.

The category is open to all media.

Shana Loshbaugh received an honorable mention for her reporting on education.

The Clarion's Outdoors section won a third-place award in the "best section" category for daily newspapers.

The section is a staff effort, which also includes columns by free-lance writer Les Palmer and the Kenai National Wildlife Refuge staff.

Subscribe to Peninsula Clarion

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved. | Contact Us