pontiac excitement 400

Posted: Thursday, May 03, 2001

When: 8 p.m. Saturday

Where: Richmond International Raceway's .75-mile quad-oval with 14-degree banking in the turns, a 1,290-foot front stretch and an 860-foot backstretch in Richmond, Va.

Broadcast: Television FX; Radio Motor Racing Network

Last year's winner: Dale Earnhardt Jr.

Morris News Service pick to win: Tony Stewart

Others to watch: Rusty Wallace, Dale Jarrett, Jeff Gordon and Dale Earnhardt Jr.

Notes: The posted awards are $3,270,994. Cars will qualify at about 126 mph, and the average speed will be about 120 mph. After sweeping through the first and second turns, the back straightaway requires a hard left turn. It's easy to spin the tires and hit the second-turn wall trying to get a run down the backstretch. Saturday's race marks the one-year anniversary of Dale Earnhardt Jr.'s last victory in a points race.

Subscribe to Peninsula Clarion

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved. | Contact Us