HEA to meet on Wednesday: Association members to vote on 3 board of directors seats

Posted: Tuesday, May 04, 2010

Homer Electric Association members who haven't yet cast their ballots for three open board of directors seats will have one last chance at the company's annual meeting on Wednesday.

Registration for the event, being held at Kenai Central High School, opens at 4:30 p.m. and continues to 6:30, with the business meeting starting at 6.

This year, candidates in District 1, Kenai, Nikiski and parts of Soldotna include incumbent Tony Garcia, of Nikiski; and William Warren, also of Nikiski.

In District 2, Soldotna, Sterling and Kasilof, the candidates are incumbent Debbie Debnam, of Sterling; and Kenneth Hepner, of Sterling.

In District 3, Kasilof south to Kachemak Bay area, incumbent director Bill Fry, of Homer, is running unopposed.

HEA spokesperson Joe Gallagher said that along with the tabulation of the election results, HEA General Manager Brad Janorschke, will present on some of the company's coming plans.

Gallagher said Janorschke will provide an update on Independent Light - the conversion of the existing Nikiski Generation Plant into a combined cycle unit that will use run off steam to generate electricity - as well as information on renewable energy projects.

Gallagher said he expects the business meeting to last about an hour.

Non-HEA members may attend the meeting but cannot vote, Gallagher said.

Food will be available until 6:30, along with informational booths set-up by both HEA and other organizations.

Gallagher said that as in years past, energy credit door prizes will be drawn, including a year of free electricity for one meeting attendee as well as one from the general membership.

New this year is a high voltage safety demonstration, planned for 5 p.m.

Dante Petri can be reached at dante.petri@peninsulaclarion.com

Subscribe to Peninsula Clarion

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved. | Contact Us