UAF announces winners of 2002 Usibelli awards

Posted: Tuesday, May 07, 2002

ANCHORAGE (AP) -- Three University of Alaska Fairbanks professors each will receive $10,000 as the recipients of the top cash prize given to faculty each year.

The winners get to use their money however they want.

UAF officials on Monday announced the winners. Chemistry professor Larry Duffy is recognized for his research contributions, math instructor Marty Getz for teaching and cooperative extension service agent Jim Douglas for public service.

The three were chosen by a committee of peers, students and a member of the UA Foundation Board of Trustees for the 2002 Emil Usibelli Distinguished Teaching, Research and Public Service Awards.

The awards are funded from a contribution by Usibelli Coal Mine through a $600,000 endowment made in 1992.

In the university system, the award is second only to the Edith R. Bullock Award, which is universitywide and has a $15,000 cash prize.

Subscribe to Peninsula Clarion

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved. | Contact Us