UAF professors receive award

Posted: Thursday, May 08, 2003

FAIRBANKS (AP) Three University of Alaska Fairbanks professors have been honored for their decades of service to the university, and each will get a check for $10,000.

Rainer Newberry, Keith Echelmeyer and Kathleen Butler-Hopkins are receiving the Emil Usibelli Distinguished Teaching, Research and Public Service awards.

Newberry, a geology professor, is the recipient of the teaching award. He has been teaching at UAF since 1982.

Echelmeyer, a professor and researcher at the Geophysical Institute for nearly two decades, gets the award for research.

Butler-Hopkins, a music professor, is being honored with the public service award. She came to UAF in 1979.

The Emil Usibelli awards are given annually and are funded by a $600,000 endowment established in 1992 by Usibelli Coal Mine, in honor of its founder.

The awards were announced this week.

Subscribe to Peninsula Clarion

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved. | Contact Us