The winston

Posted: Thursday, May 17, 2001

Where: Lowe's Motor Speedway's 1.5-mile quad-oval with 24-degree banking in the turns, a 1,952-foot front stretch and 1,360-foot back stretch in Concord, N.C.

When: 9 p.m. Saturday

Broadcast: Television FX; Radio Motor Racing Network

2000 winner: Dale Earnhardt Jr.

Morris News Service pick to win: Jeff Gordon

Others to watch: Rusty Wallace, Dale Jarrett, Steve Park and Dale Earnhardt Jr.

Notes: The posted awards are $2 million. The format is complicated. The race is open to only the 17 most recent winners on the NASCAR Winston Cup Series, former series champions and winners of the Winston Open and No Bull Sprint qualifying races. The all-star race is staged in two 30-lap segments and a 10-lap sprint. The field will be inverted after the first 30-lap segment. After the second 30-lapper, there will be a 10-minute intermission before the final 10-lap sprint.

Subscribe to Peninsula Clarion

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved. | Contact Us